Caribbean Cooking Demo

Hey everyone!

Well guess who totally forgot to mention that tonight was Whole Foods Cooking Demo night?!

With my usual suspects being out of pocket tonight, The Man was nice enough to join me for some foodie fun ๐Ÿ˜€

We were supposed to have a grilling class, but chef Jesse changed the plans last minute thanks to the lack of cooperation from the weather (what happened to our sunny, 80 degree days???)

But that was okay with me, bc the new plan was for a Caribbean theme!

How fitting since the rest of Fanatic Fam is in Bermuda on a cruise while I’m stuck in rainy Richmond – but not that I’m hatin’ or anything haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

First up we were all refreshed with a cool fruit smoothie!

Mixed frozen tropical fruit, orange juice & guava juice!ย  This was fabulous, and probably would have been even more fabulous with a lil’ coconut rum mixed in – just sayin’ ๐Ÿ˜›

After our refreshing smoothie Jesse served up a lovely cool minty cucumber soup.

With flavors of garlic, mango chutney, mint and parsley to compliment the cucumber, this soup was my favorite dish on the menu tonight!

I loved it!ย  And although hesitant at first, The Man found it to be fabulous as well!ย  I can see making this at home very soon and I may experiment with replacing some of the sour cream with Greek yogurt ๐Ÿ˜€

Moving on to what was supposed to be tostones,ย a plaintain dish (ya’ll know how much I adore these guys!), but was swapped out last minute for new-to-me yucca based on availability that day.

To served the fried yucca chef Jesse made a mojo sauce using garlic, orange juice, key lime juice (!!), cumin and olive oil.

This sauce was killer, it would be wonderful on seafood or chicken too me thinks!

I wasn’t the biggest fan of the fried yucca however.ย  Maybe it’s because I don’t care for deep fried items or maybe it was the texture, but I won’t write yucca off forever as I have heard it’s quite tasty prepared in a mashed style!

As the main dish Jesse really impressed with fresh zucchini cakes topped with garlic lime shrimp ๐Ÿ™‚

The zucchini cakes were simply made using grated zucchini, baking powder, egg, flour, S&P and shallow fried in some olive oil.

Then some flavorful & decadant shrimp were prepared using butter, garlic, key lime juice, green onion, parsley and hot sauce.

Piled all on top o’ the cake!

This was The Man’s favorite dish of the night and I must say I enjoyed it as well, even though it was a bit heavy on the oil/butter for my liking!ย  But a fabulous treat none the less ๐Ÿ˜‰

Overall it was not only a super delicious but alsoย informative night and I walked away with a happy tummy plus some new recipes up my sleeve for summer!

I think that The Man really enjoyed himself tonight too and I presume he will be attending more in the future ๐Ÿ˜›

And with that, I’m out!ย  Long day tomorrow friends….

But not before I remind all of you to enter my giveaway for your chance to try some Tropical Traditions Organic Coconut Moisturizing Lotion ๐Ÿ™‚

Lata gatas!

10 responses to “Caribbean Cooking Demo

  1. Aww, how fun that The Man joined you! I’ve got the get Mike to join me at a Whole Food’s class.

    I don’t think I would have minded the Caribbean backup plan either. And, as soon as I saw your fruit smoothie, I thought the same thing… RUM! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. oh my gosh! It all looks so good- ESPECIALLY the plantains. Delicious. Um…so I am def behind Lee after tonight! I hope he wins

  3. omg plantains! I want to make these so badly – I’m just afraid I’ll mess ’em up somehow. Everything looks SO delicious – especially that cucumber soup!

  4. WF classes are so fun, aren’t they? I’m positively drooling over that smoothie and soup, though everything looks absolutely delicious! I should take some of these fun ethnic classes, they look great for planning summer parties!

  5. I think it’s so cool that they do so many cooking demos. I need a WF here! Or a trip to Richmond ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I love fried yucca!! And those zucchini cakes topped with shrimp have me drooling, yum!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. So glad that the man liked the cooking demo. Maybe I’ll see him there next time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. OMG those zucchini cakes look to die for!

  9. Pingback: Five After Five – Wine & Food Extravaganza! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

