Adventures in Mexican Cooking!

Happy Thursday night everyone!

I had a great day at work today and only a half day on the agenda tomorrow so it’s all smiles here 😀

After I got home from work I was in one of those moods to just get all sorts of creative in the kitchen!

And I knew I wanted to do something to use up our eggs…

So what better than a Mexican egg dinner?! 

Perhaps it was my new summery dress that got me in the fiesta mood 😉

After a visit to the Goya site (great place for recipe inspiration for me fyi!) I decided that I would make up a black bean & corn salsa using the following ingredients:

  • 1 can organic black beans, drained/rinsed
  • 1.5 cups frozen organic corn
  • 1/2 cup tequila lime salsa
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 tblsp recaito
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • fresh cilantro, chopped

I picked up this recaito at the Latino market and have been so curious about it ever since, so of course I was happy to get a chance to try it out!

A unique cilantro-based seasoning containing sauteed cilantro, green pepper, onion and garlic in olive oil to create a  rich, thick base that enhances the flavor of your beans, rice, soups and stews.

Sold 😛

Combined all the ingredients and gave it a stir, voila! 

I got this done right after work so that it could sit for a while and the flavors could all become friends… we all know how that story goes 😉

For the main event I came up with a tortilla egg casserole using these guys:

  • 4 corn tortillas
  • 2 eggs, 4 egg whites
  • splash plain almond milk (unpic)
  • tequila lime salsa
  • recaito
  • 1.5 onions, chopped
  • dried anchos, rehydrated in hot water & chopped
  • cheddar cheese
  • S&P

I sauteed up the onion & rehydrated ancho chile pepper in 1 tblsp olive oil until tender and golden, adding S&P to taste.

Meanwhile I got started on layering up the casserole!

A spray of cooking spray followed by a layer of roughly ripped corn tortillas…

A few spoonfuls of salsa and recaito…

After cracking the eggs / separating the egg whites into a bowl, onto the tortilla layer they go topped with the sauteed onion & ancho chile mixture…

Topped with some roughly chopped cheddar and into a 350F oven for 25 minutes followed by a quick crank up of the temp to 450F to bubble up the cheese (or a broil) and voila!

Served the casserole with the bean & corn salsa plus some tortilla chips 🙂

Such a great meal!  Flavorful, healthy and economical — win win win!!!

So the weekend is right around the corner, what are you friends looking forward to?!?! 

I’m really excited because we are headed out to celebrate my lil’ sister’s 21st (it was Monday, but they were on a cruise in Bermuda sans Steph!) and it’s sure to be a fun night 🙂

Ahhh seems like just yesterday she was turning 18!!

We’re having dinner & drinks at an awesome restaurant & bar in The Fan close to where I used to live and go all the time, then who knows what!  Time to channel my inner “21” and see how it rolls 😉

And don’t forget that before I head out for the night tomorrow I’ll be randomly selecting the winner of the Tropical Traditions Organic Coconut Lotion Giveaway —> so go enter friends!!

Have a great night everyone 😀

10 responses to “Adventures in Mexican Cooking!

  1. I absolutely LOVE your dress. It just pops on you!

    I also cannot wait to hear about your adventures being “21” again with your sister tomorrow night. Brings me back to that fabulous, but awful, awful night. Lol.

    I bet there will be some gooood stories! Happy (belated) bday to your sista. 🙂

  2. I love the dress! THat color looks fabulous on you!

  3. Your sister and you are so beautiful! Happy belated birthday, have a great weekend celebrating!

  4. That blue dress is so pretty, I love that it kind of matches your walls haha 🙂 Everytime I see a picture of you, I’m ASTOUNDED by how much you resemble my cousin. Seriously, you two could be twins!! I need to remember to snap a pic of her next time I see her!

  5. savoringsarah

    You match your wall!! Cuttte dress, love thick belts on girly dresses!

    Tortilla casserole sounds redic- you are the Mexican cuisine queen!!!

    Have fun with mini-fanatic! Don’t you girls get into too much trouble. 🙂 or if you di, you better share the stories!!!

  6. dinner looks great, and I LOVE that dress!

  7. LOVE that dress – you look gorgeous!!! Ahhh, I love summer dresses.

    That casserole looks INSANELY delicious. 🙂

  8. Great blog! That blue dress is SO cute – and I love your mexican dinner feast – fabulous!

  9. That dress is a stunner for real, and totally appropriate for a mexican inspired meal. Ole!

    Happy birthday to your little sis!!

  10. Beautiful dress and it looks great on you! I’m very intriqued by that Goya cilantro sauce, looks like a winner of a dinner! Happy birthday to your sis too!

Leave a Reply

