Farmer’s Market Dinner

Well well well, look who went MIA last night 😉

After a long day at work, a crucial workout with Marco Reed and a delicious farmer’s market dinner… homegirl was just flat out exhausted and in need of some downtime.

But I’m back, and what better way to start a Thursday then share with you our farmer’s market dinner from last night?!

Well, perhaps if I was sharing it with you poolside with a margarita or something…. but I digress.

Last weekend I picked up a wonderful boneless pork loin from one of my favorite farmer’s, his products are really superb and this one did not disappoint.

As inspiration for a marinade/sauce I turned to one of my favorite websites and found this fabulous blend.

My version contained:

  • 1/2 tblsp Hungarian paprika
  • 1 tblsp honey
  • 1 tblsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tblsp herb dijon mustard w/ chardonnay
  • 1.5 tblsp brown sugar

I let the pork hang out in this mixture for about an hour while I got my workout on 😀

Then to prepare, I simply roasted it at 350F for about 30 minutes until done, so easy and so good! 

To go alongside I had planned on using both these guys

But the potato plan (smashed w/ onions and herbs) did not end up happenin’ – dont’ ask but these recently purchased taters just didn’t seem right and some of them were squishy.

Lesson learned, do not store potatoes in a plastic bag (doh!) or near onions (double doh!)…

So I improvised with a standby sweet tater instead and all was well 😉

Topped with salsa and feta, obviously.

The radishes did make it through to dinner however, in the form of Chardonnay-Braised Radishes!

I have never cooked a radish before, so was curious at how this would turn out…

Didn’t follow the recipe to a T, but when does that ever happen anyway 😉  But close enough!

All I have to say is butter + salt + radishes are a fabulous combo.  This was such an interesting dish but I really liked it for a change!

Now I guess it’s time to get to work, I can’t believe it’s Thursday already?!  Also, the sun has decided to make an appearance for the first time this week so I’m pretty much ecstatic about that 😛

Don’t forget it’s the last day to enter the Tropical Traditions Organic Coconut Lotion giveaway too friends!

Have a great day everyone 😀

13 responses to “Farmer’s Market Dinner

  1. The pink salad looks so gorgeous. I love the recipes. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I SERIOUSLY love going to the Farmers Market, makes me so happy to know I’m getting really fresh goods.

    Just found your blog, btw, and I’m loving it 🙂

  3. Glad you took some time for yourself after your long day!! Love your sweet tato toppings (two of my favorites). And the end product meal looks super fancy. Enjoy the day (and the sun- get out at lunch if you can!!)

  4. Everybody needs to take some time off and relax. 🙂 I am going to try to get to the downtown farmers market during lunch today. Crossing my fingers I have time! Enjoy the sunshine and warmth today, lady!

  5. pork is such an underrated meat, at least in my household. My mama never makes it! I’m going to have to get on her for that.

    Hope you enjoyed some downtime. You deserve it, pooks!

  6. savoringsarah

    Pork + dijon mustard = heaven!!!

    I LOVE the name of the farm, too- Abundant Life. So great!

    Radishes are not my friend. They scare me. MIGHT try them if you recommend, however 🙂

  7. I loved radishes! I usually only season them with butter, salt & pepper, but adding a touch of wine sounds like a fantastic idea!

  8. cookeatburn

    Alright… radishes are one of the few foods that I am scared of. I don’t like them raw and have no clue what to do with them… but butter and salt? Probably a pretty obvious option huh? 😀

  9. Marco ROCKS!
    I just cooked Radish for the 1st time not too long ago–sooooo good!

  10. I’m totally going to have to try that radish dish! I always want to buy them cuz they’re so pretty, but I never know what to do with them.

  11. Pingback: Friday Finds « Low… and behold!’s Blog

  12. Pingback: Coconut + Curry « CookinFanatic

  13. Pingback: Friday Finds | Low… and behold!'s Blog

Leave a Reply

