The big 2-1!

Hey friends!

Well I’m happy to report that last night was a success… and besides being just a lil’ tired today I feel great! 

Now the other Fanatic… hmmm not so sure her response will be the same 😉

I even got in a 6 round slim down session after dragging lil’ sis to the farmer’s market (I was shocked she wanted to go!)

One of my favorite farmers even hooked me up with some extra “on the house” baby bok choy since he felt bad not having it for me last week… how sweet was that?!?!

Anywho, let’s go for a last night recap, shall we?!

Festivities took place in a part of town where I used to live called The Fan.  It’s located just west of downtown Richmond (see how the streets “fan” out?) and is full of gorgeous old houses, family owned restaurants and lots of cute bars all within walking distance of each other.

 

We started the night by meeting up with some friends at a place I used to go to quite often when I lived down here, DeLux.

Steph, Kim (aka mini-Fanatic) and one of my best friends Tammy

They have a fabulous dinner menu and an extensive martini & mojito selection!

First legal drink out in Richmond for mini-Fanatic, courtesy of Tammy!

Lil’ sis definitely got her tan on while in Bermuda this past week, so summery!

Once we sat down for dinner it was time to make some appetizer decisions!  Check out their menu here if ya want, it’ll make you drool, I promise 😉

Lobster Dip – artichoke, roasted peppers & lobster meat served w/ fried flour tortilla chips

Fried Calamari – served w/ tzatziki sauce

 

For the main course the girls went with salads, which are phenomenal here!

I had the blurry 😉 blackened tuna salad

Mixed greens, corn relish, avocado, cucumbers and pico de gallo (chipotle ranch not necessary!)

The guys stuck with the short rib grilled cheese

Pulled short ribs, Swiss, caramelized onions and garlic mayonnaise w/ sweet potato fries

And as if all that wasn’t enough, The Man twisted my arm into ordering dessert haha righttttt 😛

Krispy Kreme bread pudding

Yes, you read that right.  Holy outta this world… it tasted like breakfast + dessert HEAVEN.  I don’t even really like doughnuts but this was soooooo indulgently good and so worth it 😀

A few more drinks were had before we realized it was 11pm and we had been at dinner for over 2 hours!! 

Dragonberry mojito anyone???

At that point we decided to head elsewhere, and what better than one of my favorite bars in The Fan, Three Monkeys

3 Monkey's

When I lived down here this was our go-to spot… and also where The Man and I began our lil’ love affair some 2+ years ago 😉

Actually… it was right in this very spot where Mr. Man approached me while I was hanging out with mini-fanatic one Thursday night after a girl’s night dinner!

And thennnn, look who showed up too…

None other than Miss EatingBirdFood herself! 😀

After another round of drinks…

… including the obligatory shooter w/ big sis, we headed over to another bar down the street.

What is going on here hahaha?!?!?!

No pics though bc this place was packeddddd…. after fighting the crowd we decided that it was time to call it a night and head home!

And how could you not be excited about coming home to this furry friend 😉

Seriously.

So pretty much a great night all around… while I may not be as wild & crazy as I used to be, I definitely still enjoy heading out for some great food, drinks and company!

Now it’s off to relax, I need some serious downtime today after a long work week and late night out 😛

See you friends later!

9 responses to “The big 2-1!

  1. Love the pics! What a fun night! Hope Kim is not hurting too bad today.

  2. Glad you had such a fun night, your pictures make me excited for my own 21st this winter!! You two look so much alike!

  3. HAHA these pictures make me laugh especially the last one..i ❤ lucy dog 🙂

    Such a fun night, so glad I got to spend it with everyone! But I know there will be many more to come! Lets just continue the birthday celebrations all year long hehe just kidding!

  4. awww – I’m glad you girls had so much fun! Gosh, 21….seems like ages ago! (Okay, maybe it was). And I would have devoured that bread pudding in 2 seconds FLAT. 🙂

  5. What a fun night! You and your sis are so cute! 🙂 BTW love your tweet comment, I sure hope whoever hit on you was at least good looking 😉

  6. lowandbhold

    That dress is so chic Steph! Looks like an amazing night!

  7. Looks like fun! Happy Birthday to you sis (love that you call her mini-Fanatic). Great eats too- a short rib grilled cheese? I’ve never heard of something like that- so cool.

  8. Fun night out! Happy Birthday to your sis. I love fried calamari – every last bite of greasy goodness!

  9. Dinner at Delux looks awesome!

    I’m so glad Kim had a great time celebrating her 21st. We’ll definitely have to meet up again sometime for a bit longer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

