A Taste of Italy

Happy Monday everyone!

Gotta love the start of a new week, no? 😉

Well I have a fabulous restaurant review for you today that will hopefully entertain you for at least a few and make your Monday tastefully brighter?!

Last night The Man and I had dinner with both his parents and my parents at A Taste of Italy, a restaurant owned & operated by one of his good friends!

Of course I had to sport my new dress for the occassion, obviously 😛

A Taste of Italy

Everything we had was absolutely delicious, and since it had been some time since we’d had really good Italian food out, this was definitely a treat!

Note:  their website only contains a sample menu, once we got there we realized that there were so many dishes to choose from!  So some of the descriptions below had to be written from memory best that I could…

I’ll take you through the meal start to finish, how about it?

Bruschettatoasted garlic bread topped w/chunks of fresh tomatoes, basil, olive oil and mozzarella cheese

Served warm and toasty, this was superb.

Fried Mushrooms – served with homemade marinara sauce

The smudged marinara sauce is a result of butter fingers over here dropping her camera into the marinara sauce plate haha oooops! Official food blogger now, no?

This dish was my favorite of the night 🙂  The warm freshly fried mushrooms dipped in a most outstanding tomato sauce was seriously pure bliss for my mouth!

Side saladserved w/ homemade Italian dressing

Loved the dressing, mmmmm!

Eggplant RollatiniEggplant rolled around ricotta cheese topped with marinara & more cheese (best description from what I remember) served over pasta

This was my entree and it was richly fabulous in every sense of the word, their marinara sauce is truly delicious and enough said with the cheese & eggplant combo 😀

Pasta Fra Diavolo – a spicy marinara served w/ shrimp, scallops, peppers and olives (once again, best description based on what I can remember)

This was The Man’s entree and of course I snuck a taste, it was fantastic as well!

Other dishes ordered by the table, all with rave reviews:

  • Eggplant parmigiana
  • Veggie lasagna w/ meat sauce (only my Dad would request this, love him! 😉 )
  • Veggie lasagna
  • Penne a la vodka

And there may or may not have been a few bites of cannoli to top things off as well, just sayin’ 😛

All in all it was a great time out, a few drinks, some great food and fantastic company really made for a perfect end to the weekend.  We will definitely be eating here again!

Alright, with that I’m out… enjoy your Monday and see you back tonight for perhaps another Italian inspired dinner 😉

8 responses to “A Taste of Italy

  1. Oh my! Everything looks soooo good. I want all of it. Italian is going to be on the menu this week for sure.

  2. I LOVE the new dress, lady. You look slammin’! 🙂

    I usually don’t love going out for Italian food, unless it is GOOD, authentic Italian. Your meal last night looks like it hit a jackpot. Also, talk about a way to avoid the Sunday night blues!

  3. WOW. All of the food looks delicious!!! I’ve never had fried mushrooms but everything is great when fried, no? 🙂 And bruschetta is such a treat because I have NO clue how to replicate it at home, so I only get it at Italian restaurants! Deeelicous.

    LOVE your dress – you look so purty! 🙂 Where did you get it?? I’m in a MAJOR dress buying mode here.

  4. lowandbhold

    That eggplant dish looks INSANELY good!

  5. cookeatburn

    You look so gorgeous in your dress! I bet it was perfect for the warmer weather too.

    And dinner? Fried mushrooms and bruschetta = two foods in my top ten of Italian food ;).

  6. Love the eggplant dish, looks amazing. I love Italian food.

  7. I love how you match your outfit according to the food your eating. Can’t wait to see what you rock on chinese night 😉

  8. Pingback: Italian take 2! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

