Italian take 2!

Well guess what ended up on our menu tonight?!

None other than another Italian inspired meal using some of the fresh vegetables that I purchased at the Farmer’s Market!

Veggie Pasta w/ Chicken Sausage

  • 1 can TJs tomatoes w/ basil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 5 small summer squash/zucchini, sliced
  • 3 small cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tblsp EVOO
  • fresh basil & Italian parsley
  • dried oregano, S&P
  • 2 TJ’s Italian chicken sausages, sliced
  • pasta
  • black pepper Parmesan cheese, grated to serve

So here’s what I did —> got the sauce started before my planned workout so it had time to simmer away and let all the flavors blend.

If there’s anything I’ve learned about a tomato sauce, it’s that it really gets better with time.  At least in my opinion 😀

Begin with a saute of the onion in some EVOO while you continue slicing the other veggies.

Then add in the summer squash and cover for just a few minutes until it softens up.

Throw in the garlic towards the end too, yummmm 😛

While this is cooking up, give the sliced chicken sausage a quick saute in cooking spray until browned on the outside.

This will add an additional layer of flavor to the sauce.

Now comes the messy part, tomato squishin’!!!!

Since the tomatoes in this can were whole, I just stuck my clean hands right into the can and squished the ‘maters right up until they were “sauce worthy.”  Then added to the sauce pot…

Something about this was just wayyyyy too fun haha, call me weird 😉

In go the browned chicken sausages, fresh basil and Italian parsley, sprinking of dried oregano, salt and pepper and on goes the lid… let it simmer on low while you go get your workout on!

A quick Yoga Meltdown session later, walk into a fabulous smelling kitchen and uncover your surprise!

Oh yes, what could be easier? 

Perhaps boiling up some pasta to serve then shredding some TJs black pepper parmesan on top?!?!

Easy peasy, no?

And prepping a quick side salad w/ roasted red peppers, black olives, feta, fresh herbs and homemade white balsamic vinaigrette to go with…

This isn’t rocket science here 😉

Reasons why I loved this meal:

  1. It was delicious, tasted fresh & homemade which always ends a work day nicely.
  2. It was not labor intensive, preparing it before my workout meant that I was basically ready to eat once I was done.
  3. It wasn’t heavy on the meat, adding veggies to sauces like this is an easy way to really bulk them up in a healthful manner.

So there you have it!

Time for a pretty awesome line up of shows tonight, Monday night tv is probably my favorite tv night overall!

Now if only I could choose between The Bachelorette and 2.5 Men/Big Bang Theory… life decisions, right? 😉

See you tomorrow friends!

P.S. Thanks for all your wonderful comments on my dress last night, glad everyone liked it and was so kind to tell me so! 😀

4 responses to “Italian take 2!

  1. Okay, you have me sold on trying the Steph sauce. I mean, you had me hooked on the idea when I read that I get to use my hands to squish tomatoes. 🙂

    I know, tough decisions tonight, huh? You know what I’ll be watching!

  2. Pasta looks great 🙂 What a chef! Love it!!

  3. Looks so fabulous! Love summer squash and zuch. And the pasta/salad addition really rounds out the meal. Hope your week goes well

  4. savoringsarah

    YUM! Love love love simple veggie pasta sauces. Beautiful! I am kinda upset I didn’t get to watch bachelorette last night…boyfriend vetoed that idea as soon as I switched it on. Dang! Might have to sneak it onto the DVR and get caught up on the weekends he’s gone for work 🙂 Total guilty pleasure!

Leave a Reply

