Not just any old stir fry

Hey hey everyone!

Well it’s Tuesday, nothing crazy special to report here but no complaints either.  I’ll take it 😉

Tonight’s dinner plan was for a stir fry, but not just any old stir fry…  oh no no no.

A seafood stir fry!

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 bag frozen TJs harvest hodgepodge
  • 1 bag frozen TJs seafood blend (shrimp, scallops, calamari)
  • 1/4 cup sweet ginger chili sauce
  • 1 tblsp virgin coconut oil
  • black pepper to taste
  • brown rice to serve

I picked up this seafood blend of shrimp, scallops and calamari during my last Trader Joe’s adventure and was really excited to try it out.

Although I must tell you that both The Man and I were a bit hesitant on how the calamari would turn out – as we all know it’s very easy to make calamari rubbery and chewy!  We’ve really only had it fried too, so was intrigued on how it would be stir fried…

Only one way to find out, right?!

Let’s get starteddddddddd 🙂

Chop the onion.  Add to a hot wok with 1/2 tblsp coconut oil.  Stir fry about 2 minutes.  Add in frozen veggies and stir fry until just starting to brown.

Remove veggies from wok.  Add another 1/2 tblsp coconut oil and seafood, stir fry until close to done.

Then toss everyone together and add in the sweet ginger chili sauce and black pepper to taste. 

Voila, your dinner is done!

Served atop brown rice and with some soy sauced garlic bok choy alongside!

So what was the verdict on the stir fry? 

Perfect.  The Man was mmmm’ing and yummm’ing through the meal as was I.  The seafood cooked up perfectly, no rubbery chewy textures to be found.  The scallops were really sweet too.  I was seriously impressed by this dish!

The Man also commented on how the choice of sauce was perfect for this mixture of flavors.  I really think a soy sauce base would have just been too much too.

Ahhhh perfect Tuesday night dinner, enjoyed with some Viognier, my new favorite white wine these days.

And now, it’s time to devour one of these yummies from Candy Valley Cake Company and catch up on American Idol 😉

Cake Pops - BOB

Chocolate Peanut Butter – chocolate cake laced w/ chopped peanut butter chips, coated w/ peanut butter candy shell

I die.

I seriously buy these every single week at the Farmer’s Market, we just adore them!  Some of the most moist, flavorful cake I’ve ever had and the portion size is perfect 😛

Oh and get this, there may be an upcoming giveaway for you to try some too courtesy of the company’s owner being so awesomely kind!

Have a great night 😀

7 responses to “Not just any old stir fry

  1. I had stir fry tonight, too! Mine was pretty spectacular as well. I’ve never had scallops or calamari in a stir fry before, or anything Asian inspired for that matter. I am intrigued, I need to try now!

  2. cookeatburn

    Boc choy… girl, you are making me crave it every time you make it! Not that that’s a bad thing :-P.

  3. You might just get me to try boc choy one of these days!!

    Mmmm – everytime you post a pic of those cake pops I drool. 🙂

  4. I want your dinner. Shrimp, calamari, scallops and chocolate peanut butter cake? Yes, please!! Your man is one lucky dude!

  5. The stir fry sounds delicious. I want to try that ginger sauce now!!

  6. lowandbhold

    I love Viognier! Mmmm.

    Dinner looks great! So healthy.

  7. savoringsarah

    Whoa that seafood mix looks awesome!!! First time I eer had calamari it was grilled….mmmm so good !

    Viognier is a great sipping wine! I’ve been on a serious Sauvignon blanc kick lately….

    Ok Choco-pb cake pop kinda sorta sounds made for me!!!

Leave a Reply

