Urban Farmhouse

For my farewell lunch with my old group at work today, the group decided to treat me to a restaurant downtown called Urban Farmhouse.

I had heard about this restaurant a few times and was very excited to try it out!

Urban Farmhouse on 2010-01-22 at 15-05-56 (1)

Their menu consists of fresh, seasonal and locally sourced ingredients including naturally raised meats from local suppliers —> do my coworkers know me well or what?! 😉

There were so many great choices, I seriously couldn’t pick?!  But I finally decided that I’d go with the twosome, half sandwich and half salad. 

Half Mango Turkey sandwich with half Asparagus and White Bean salad.

Mango Turkey sandwich – turkey breast with homemade Mango Chutney and caramelized onions on The Flour Garden’s Campagne bread

Asparagus & White Bean salad – Lemony white cannellini beans, fresh early spring asparagus and crumbled feta tossed with organic mixed greens, served with our homemade Basalmic Vinaigrette

LOVE LOVE LOVED THIS MEAL!  Served w/ carrot sticks and chips on the side, this sandwich was no joke.  There was no deli cut meat here, this was thick cut legit turkey breast!  The salad was divine as well, creamy w/ the beans and feta and crunchy w/ the asparagus (which I adore asparagus but don’t get to eat it often bc The Man hates it) 😛

It was funny because the guys were a bit hesitant, shall we say, about this place but they all ended up really liking it!!!  Urban Farmhouse, changing minds about “frou frou” restaurants one meal at a time 😉

My coworker was excited to show off his yummy meal!

Q Bleu ChickenThe Farmhouse version of barbeque with a snappy vinegar based sauce and bleu cheese crumbles

It was pretty much a ginormous buffalo chicken sandwich and the guys agreed that it was plenty of food and quite delicious at that!

I also couldn’t resist a chocolate chip cookie for dessert either… could you?!

Yep, loved this place.  Would go back in a heartbeat! 😀

One of my coworkers was also so nice and brought me a little going away present!

Her mom makes these wonderful soaps and sells them at our local farmer’s market every weekend!  And now I get to try some of my very own, which I’m really looking forward to bc they are natural and they smell heavenly 😀

The same coworker also forwarded me this article today, which I found to be quite the interesting read, so I wanted to pass along to you friends.

It has to do with the benefits of grass fed beef and it’s potential cancer-fighting properties vs. the conventional grain-fed option.  Just add it to the list of reasons why making the switch is so important to us!

Alright friends, well you know I’ll be tuned into the season finale of American Idol tonight 😀

If you watch American Idol, who are you rooting for to win?!?!

See you tomorrow, we have a fun dinner planned that I’m already looking forward too (you know you’re a food blogger when…?!?!)

8 responses to “Urban Farmhouse

  1. That restaurant sound amazing! I would love to go there 😉

  2. I still need to try out Urban Farmhouse for lunch one day. Your meal looked fab!

  3. lowandbhold

    Yum, that place sounds great! I wouldn’t have been able to pass up the cookie either 🙂

  4. How sweet are your co-workers to pick such an amazing place?! We’re going out for my b-day next week and I’m praying my co-workers don’t pick Olive Garden (nuthin’ again the OG, but the restaurant you went to looks much more appealing!). I agree…everything looks amazing, especially those cookies. Mmmm.

    Oh my gosh, what a great article! Thank you so much for the link – you’re right, just another reason to make the switch! I love reading information like this because it helps me rationalize the extra cost. 🙂

  5. savoringsarah

    Oh MY that place sounds DIVINE! A little tea/cafe shop just opened up downtown here and they have the same type of philosophy…DYING to try it!

    Love the article on grass-fed beef! I do not ever feel bad eating meat anymore because I know exactly where ours comes from (next door!) and what they are eating (out in the fields all day!!). I am a litttttttle spoiled 🙂

  6. This place looks awesome and a lot like a restaurant called the Farmers GastroPub here in Springfield MO. Love the local ingredients and changing menu (I suppose the have to change because of what’s available) but it just makes it more fun! Cool beers too! Bonus.

  7. WOW! What a cool lunch place. Such an interesting sammy combo and I’d be all about the salad. I love when you go to a restaurant and can’t decide what to get because you want MULTIPLE items! Your coworkers must ❤ you!! I'm glad Lee won.

  8. wooooooo go Lee!

    okay, sorry – I had to.

    Anyhoo, that lunch place sounds bomb! p.s. is your coworker single?! 😉 Kidding, kidding.

Leave a Reply

