Holiday Weekend!

Happy Memorial Day weekend everyone!

We’ve been busy playing in the sun, eating good food and doing what should be done on long holiday weekends – having fun!! 😀

Let’s back track to Saturday shall we, remember that homemade bbq sauce I made?

Well it sure did make a pretty delicious bbq chicken dinner on the cast iron grill (love this thing)…

Next best way to get that “grilled” taste in lieu of an outdoor grill 😉

Served up with a side salad & some mac n’ cheese, this was everything I wanted in a comfort dinner and more!

 

The homemade barbecue sauce was based on some recipes I found online & my own tastes as I went along.  It included:  onions, garlic, ketchup, worcestershire sauce, agave, honey, cayanne, chili powder and apple cider vinegar.

So. Good.

Yesterday I woke up early and got to work on the dessert that I was bringing to the Memorial Day cookout…

Oh yes, that would be fruit pizza.

Sugar cookie crust, cream cheese/sugar/vanilla frosting, fresh fruit and strawberry jam topping.

So freaking delicious.  Such a great hot weather dessert choice if you ask me, and I think everyone else thougt so as well 🙂

We spent the day/night over at The Man’s parents house with a bunch of friends…

They have a big backyard, a pool and tons of games.  Love it especially during the summa time!

Dinner was cookout style…

Hamburgers, hot dogs, sausages, potato salad, tuna salad, fresh veggies, bean/corn salsa, corn on the cob.

Everything was delicious!

There were also just a few adult beverages enjoyed over the course of the weekend 😉

This beer seriously kicks a$$, I must find more!

Question for you before I head off to the pool to soak up more of these gorgeous Virginia rays…

In the south (or at least in Virginia) we use the word “barbecue” in reference to pulled pork covered with bbq sauce.  However in the north I have noticed that the word “barbecue” is used in reference to the actual act of cooking out on the grill.

What do you use the word “barbecue” for where you’re from?!

Don’t ask me why, but I am curious about this 😛

Enjoy your day off!

9 responses to “Holiday Weekend!

  1. I’m from Oregon, and we definitely use “barbecue” as a verb for cooking on the grill. As in: “let’s barbecue tonight!” I remember when I first heard “barbecue” referring to an actual food, and I was like “umm barbecued WHAT?! Chicken? Steak? Vegetables?” haha!

  2. From Detroit…BBQ means friends gather at someone’s house, grill food, drink beer and play some lawn games (darts, washers, etc.). Usually everyone brings something.

    I love fruit pizza – perfect for a bbq!! What a fun weekend 🙂

  3. ahhh fruit pizza! Is there anything better than cookie crust + fruit + cream cheese? Um, I don’t think so!

    We use BBQ as a noun and a verb…like, “I’m going to a barbeque at a friend’s house” or “I love that barbeque sauce.” 🙂

  4. oops – I guess the verb example would be “I’m going to barbeque this chicken.” I swear when I was a teacher I got my examples straight! LOL

  5. Happy Memorial Day!!!

    BBQ means different things here in NC, depending where you are from, but basically comes down to the type of sauce.

  6. I agree with the Pure2raw twins- in SC just like in NC- based on the type of sauce used!! Looks like you have been having a blast. The chicken looks like it turned out perfect. And I want that bean salsa. We have been relaxing and enjoying a good chunk of time with friends. We’re having a cook out tonight

  7. Barbecue means pulled pork or the sauce to me. The actual cooking on the grill is called cooking out or grilling. 😉

    Happy Memorial Day – enjoy the lovely weather my love.

  8. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife

    Is that an in-pool beer pong table I spy?!? AWESOME!!

    And bobby flay let’s me know that “grill it!” is cooking and bbq is the actual food 🙂

    Glad you had such a fantastic day!

  9. Looks like you had an awesome Memorial Day weekend! I love your Fruit Pizza, the corn and bean dish and the Orange Cream Beer!!! Yummm…I have heard people in this area (Boston) refer to a summer gathering as a BBQ but typically I call it a cook out.

Leave a Reply

