Mexican inspired…

Happy Monday night everyone!

Phew this day turned out to be much busier than anticipated, but at least that meant it flew by 🙂

While I’m getting my exercise on, why don’t I fill you in on last  night’s farmer’s market dinner… what-da-ya-say?

Mexican Spiced Roasted Chicken & Stuffed Squash

So I got a lil’ crazy at the farmer’s market this weekend and decided to purchase a half chicken from one of the sweetest farmers there.

This chicken came from The Byrd Farm, located  just 30 miles down the road and was raised using feed from local Mennonites that is not genetically engineered in any way.

During the transaction I also got a fun story about minks & chickens…. but we won’t go there k 😉

First step was a brine for the lil’ guy, something recommended to me by Fanatic Mom as she saw her family use this method when purchasing from the local butcher in years past.

I simply boiled 16 cups water + 1/3 cup sugar + 1/3 cup table salt until dissolved. Let cool. Then let the chicken soak in said mixture for about 3 hours (in fridge).

You can read more about the benefits of brining here, including the processes of diffusion & osmosis that occurs (so scientific, no?!) 😛

I used part of a recipe that I found on Cooking Light as inspiration for the Mexican flava

My version contained:

  • 2 tbslp olive oil
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 1/2 lime juiced, 1/2 lime sliced thin
  • 1 clove garlic minced, 1 clove garlic sliced

Start by removing the chicken from the brine, drying thoroughly.  Then place the sliced lime & garlic underneath various portions of the skin.

Next combine olive oil, chili powder, cumin, lime zest, lime juice and minced garlic.  Rub all over chicken until nice n’ messy.

Then put into a 375F oven for 30 minutes, then crank it up to 450F for another 20 and you’re done!

While that’s cooking away, get started on the squashies 🙂

This is a recipe I made many times last summer and one that we love… I haven’t used these particular light green squash before however.

From what I can tell online, these are called geode squash and similar to the eight ball squash I’ve used before.

Such a fun twist on preparing squash!

Slice off the top and scoop out the insides, setting aside.

Add squash to boiling water and let heat until tender & cooked, about 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, chop up the squash “insides” and saute with 1 chopped onion in 1 tsp EVOO.  Add in 1/2 can fire roasted diced green chilis towards the end.

Time to stuff the squashies!  Once they are cooked, removed from water and let dry.  Put a layer of cheese in the bottom, then spoon in the squash/onion/chile mixture and top with more cheese!

Into a 400F oven until cheese melts, about 10 minutes.

Voila!

Check out the fabulous inside 🙂

So good! 

P.S. This is one of the only ways I can get The Man to eat squash plain (i.e. not mixed into pasta, etc.) 😉

Let’s get back to that chicken why don’t we?!?

So lovely.  So delicious.

Minus the oven burn to the arm (ouch!) this dinner was perfect and was enjoyed with one of my new favorite wines…

… from one of my new favorite wine stores in Richmond.

Once Upon a Vine.

If you live in the area, go there. 

Their selection of (great-priced) wines & beers is unlike anywhere else in this city, and trust me, I’ve been to alot of places haha 😉

And if you don’t trust me, they were rated in the top 50 beer retailers in the world on ratebeer.com.

With that, I’m out! 

Remember that giveaway I mentioned a few days ago??  It’s in the works and look for it later this week, it’s coming your way! 😀

7 responses to “Mexican inspired…

  1. Holy smokes woman, your dinner looks fantastic. Fanatic fantastic. Yes, I am that corny, I can’t help myself. 🙂

  2. I have never seen those squash before! Your dinner looks great. 🙂

  3. The recipe’s really inspiring. It’s so healthy and looks delicious.

  4. WOW what a divine dinner. Hooray for the farmers market. Love the idea of the stuffed up squash. They’re such a cool color.

  5. Green squash?! I love it. Great looking chicken as well. I have never cooked a chicken like that – I either buy a whole chicken cooked already or stick with the breasts. Maybe I need to venture out!

  6. What a great dinner! Those squashes look really interesting.

    Thanks for the beet recipe! You’re a lifesaver!!

  7. I love that you use such interesting veggies all the time. I have never seen/heard of that type of squash but what you did with it sounds and looks amazing! Well done!

Leave a Reply

