Coconut + Curry

Hello everyone!

Can I just tell you how excited I am that ya’ll are loving the Candy Valley Cake Pop giveaway as much as me?!

Makes me happy happy 😀

Maybe even more happy than the impossible yoga session I did after work… anyone ever have one of those “off” days where sometimes the poses just aren’t working out?  Ah well, I still trucked through and it felt great by the end!

That’s the beauty of working out, you don’t have to be perfect everytime & every little bit is great for your body 😉

So the plan for dinner tonight was based around more local pork that I got at the farmer’s market…

Sneak peak?!!?

Don’t mind the background ingredients… we’re workin’ with an imposter pic here! 😛

This time around though I wanted to try something besides roasting, and I was really in the mood for some different flavors.

So this evolved!

  • 1 can light organic coconut milk
  • 1 large clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tblsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, chopped (unpic)
  • fresh lemon basil & regular basil – for topping

This was so easy to pull together and the smells were fabulous each step of the way!

First, combine all of the above ingredients except basil in a saucepan, cooking to warm through and let the flavors blend.

Can I drink you please?

Yea, I guess that would be a little much 😉

Then I found another lil’ fun squashie that I picked up at the farmer’s market, did I mention how fun squash can be in the kitchen?! So many varieties!

I heated up 1 tblsp coconut oil and added this squash, chopped up in large pieces and an onion chopped the same way.

After cooking until close to tender it was time to add the pork loin, which I chopped in large pieces and seasoned w/ S&P.

A lil’ extra coconut oil was added before meat went in too. 

I like to use this method for cooking meat/veg… giving the veg a cook first then a push to the perimeter of the pan while the meat browns & absorbs all their great flavor.

Lastly, in went some frozen cauliflower which I just gave a quick heat in the microwave to get ready.

At this point I added the veg/meat mixture to the curry/coconut sauce in a pot, covered and let finish cooking through.

To go with it was time for some TJ’s rice sticks

I’m in love with these guys… seriously.

While these boiled up I removed the curry from the heat and spooned into a mondo-sized bowl, reserving some of the curry/coconut sauce to use to coat the rice sticks once they were done…

Don’t forget to top with your fresh basil!

I then mixed the remaining sauce with said cooked rice sticks…

And served it on up, layer of coconut curry rice sticks topped with coconut curry meat & vegetable mixture and voila!

Yea, this was pretty much amazing!

The sauce – perfect.

The mixture of pork & vegetables with the rick sticks – perfect.

I don’t even know how to explain how excited I was about this finished product!

The flavors of fresh lemon basil really made this dish pop, if you haven’t tried this herb I highly recommend finding some, it’s one of my new favorites!  (Thanks Fanatic Mom for buying it for me, mother’s always know best 😉 )

The Man loved this dish too, such a fun twist of flavors to really liven up the work week.

And b-t-w, it was great with the pork but would be just as fabulous meat-free!

So now I’m off to do what I do best, enjoy some time with my loves and rest up for tomorrow.  This week is almost over, can you believe it?!

Have a great night everyone 😛

4 responses to “Coconut + Curry

  1. This dinner looks amazing. anything with coconut and curry and I’m a sold gal.

  2. Yum….pork. I haven’t had it in SO long! I love the flavor combo – Miss Creativity, you are. 🙂

  3. savoringsarah

    Those rice sticks sound amazin’! Another beautiful, local, FRESH dinner with a tasty flair. Like I expect anything less outta you! Hope you’ve been having a great week lady!

Leave a Reply

