Plaintains. Life Changing.

Happy Friday everyone!! 😀

Gotta make this snappy, we are busy busy tonight getting ready for our all day river tubing adventure tomorrow!

Last minute workout to squeeze in, sandwiches to be made, adult beverages to be bought… you know the drill 😉

And thank you Fanatic Mom for staying with lil’ Lu Dog for us tomorrow, she says that sounds woof-tastic!!

Dinner tonight was an easy night Friday delight…

  • Buffalo Chicken, baked w/ green peppers & onions
  • Sauteed Plaintains
  • Garden Salad

First up, the chicken, which I decided to marinade in this…

The Man picked this out at the store the other day and I knew he’d be pleased with this meal (he’d probably drink the bottle if I didn’t use it soon haha, severe “buffalo sauce” disorder ya think?)

Chicken breast, largely sliced onion and green pepper plus the marinade got happy together while I got my workout on…

Then into a 375F oven for 30 minutes they went.

To go with I decided on plaintains, since I’ve been waiting ever-so-patiently for these suckers to ripen (takes foreverrrrr but so worth it!)

Looks like a rotten banana eh?  Not to worry, this is when the plaintain is at it’s sweetest… yellow & black!

If you remember last time I baked these up in the most glorious mixture of cumin, chili powder, cilantro & coconut oil. So good.

For the sake of time I decided on a simple saute tonight 🙂

1/2 tbslp coconut oil, 1 plaintain sliced on the diagonal.  That’s it.

The smell. Intoxicating.  The taste. Can’t put it into words.

My friends, plaintains are a life changing food.  At least for me.  Saying I adore them would be the understatement of the century.

I liked them like this even more than the last round.  I don’t know if the coconut oil really makes it happen, but these were AMAZINGGGGGGGG!

You know when you close your eyes and make the “mmm” sound while chewing because something is so good? (or is that just me haha)  Yep, that happened for each & every bite of this side dish 😉

Of course there was also a side salad of romaine, cucumber, tomato, green pepper, feta topped with white balsamic vinegar & olive oil, S&P and dried oregano to round out the meal.

Getting tired of this combo yet?  Not I!

Perfect way to end the week!

Well time to run, I can’t wait to soak up the rays from the comforts of my river tube with a frosty beverage in hand early tomorrow morning 😛

But before I go, just your friendly reminder to enter for your chance to win a dozen Candy Valley Cake Pops!!!

Off I go, enjoy your weekend friends!

4 responses to “Plaintains. Life Changing.

  1. I grew up eating plantains and they are one of my most favorite foods ever.

    I love them for breakfast. Having some tomorrow with re-fried beans and ranchero eggs, yum!

  2. I HAVE to have that Buffalo Wing marinade, and it’s made by Ken’s – my favorite! Great meal, I love it!!

  3. I saw plantains last time I was at WF but didn’t try them for some reason…they sound incredible!! Definitely need to pick them up next time. Hope you’re having a great weekend love!

  4. Katherine: What About Summer?

    TGIF: I love the weekend. That looks like a great plantain recipe! I tried to sub plantain for my banana one morning, but I’m going to go on a limb and say you should prob cook them before. I love the mix of sweet and savory ingredients with the onion thrown in there too. Looks so good!
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

