Dinner w/ the Parents!

Happy Monday everyone!

My favorite oxymoron or whatever you want to call it 😉

I can’t wait to fill you friends in on the dinner that I fixed for Fanatic Mom & Dad last night!

As I hinted at yesterday, this meal was based on a dish that Mom & I had just tasted at last week’s Whole Foods Five After Five event

Remember how much we really liked this dish?!  And bought the fresh chicken sausage right then, right there 😛

Well it was time to put that delicious-ness to good use!

WARNING:  This recipe is definitely not on the bikini-ready diet plan.  But I promise that it is so worth the splurge!

First up were the fresh garlic, basil & sun-dried tomato chicken sausages,which were NOTHING like their pre-packaged counterparts, no match!

Cooked in a pan on the stove top until done, then sliced into 1/2 pieces on the diagonal.

Check out the big chunks of sun-dried tomatoes!  Not to mention a flavor like you wouldn’t even believe.  These were truly fabulous 🙂

The rest of the dish consisted of:

  • 1/2 quart half & half
  • 1 container (1 cup) basil pesto
  • 1 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 package whole wheat penne
  • fresh basil

So easy, just add the first 2 ingredients to the sliced chicken sausages and let cook over medium heat until reduced by about half.  At this point add in your cheese and let melt through.  Finish off with some fresh basil and voila!

So decadent!  The smell… oh the smell…

Once the pasta finishes cooking, stir everyone together and serve!

Not even gonna try to explain how good…!

And what pasta dinner would be complete without a fresh salad?

This was Fanatic parents first time experience “the dressing” 😉

They LOVED it!  Like us, they couldn’t believe that such a simple combo of flavors could turn out so well.  White balsamic vinegar… life changing?

For dessert, the theme of indulgence went on!

Lemon pound cake.  Peaches & sugar.  Cool Whip.

Fabulous end to a wonderful dinner 🙂

It was such a great way to close out the weekend, I love having Fanatic Fam over anytime and a great meal just makes it even better!

Well enough of my rambles, how about we announce the winner of the Candy Valley Cake Pop giveaway?!?!

Note: I originally posted the winner without realizing there was many entries in my wordpress spam inbox that needed approval, so I felt like the right thing to do would be to generate the winner including these entries so everyone that entered had a fair chance. Sorry for the confusion!

Congrats Roadhouse, please email me your shipping info along with the 2 flavors of cake pops you want to try and I’ll get them on their way!

And for those of you that didn’t win, if you are in the Richmond area I highly advise checking out Candy Valley at theWest End Farmer’s Market on Saturday mornings 🙂

And if you aren’t in the Richmond are, no worries, you can check them out online!

Alright, well I’m off to enjoy the rest of The Bachelorette and rest up in hopes of healing this sore throat (?? what the heck, I have no tonsils !!)

I can’t wait to share the make-ahead Italian dinner that we had tonight with you friends too… to which The Man claimed was “better than anything you could order at a restaurant” (*squeal!* he’s a toughie on Italian foods!)

Look for it tomorrow!

Lata gatas 😛

5 responses to “Dinner w/ the Parents!

  1. That dinner sounds great! I’ve never had chicken sausage, but I’ve always been curious about it.

  2. beautiful dinner! It sounds fantastic 🙂

  3. That dinner looks amazing! I’ve always wanted to go to the five at five, I may have to swindle the boyfriend into taking me somehow…

    Hope your throat feels better babe!

  4. I was waiting for this post ever since you mentioned it! It is definitely something I am going to have to try! I may just make it for myself & have leftovers for lunches! 🙂 Not sure if the hubby will be big on it – he’s not a huge fan of pesto (I know – a crime!).

  5. Oh & where is there a Whole Foods? I work in Richmond, but live down in Matoaca, so I’m not too familiar with it. It may be something I’m interested in doing with a coworker some time in the very near future!

Leave a Reply

