Eggplant Bruschetta Bake

Hey everyone!  Well I’m currently enjoying some delicious treats at the Whole Foods cooking demo with a few of my favorite people 😀 …

However, I just had to share with you a wonderful ad-hoc recipe that I whipped up on Sunday for us to have a quick heat n’ serve dinner Monday night…

Eggplant Bruschetta Bake

  • 1 eggplant, cut into 1/2” slices
  • 1 jar TJ’s bruschetta topping
  • ½ lb local grass fed ground beef
  • ½ onion, diced
  • 1 tblsp tomato paste
  • Dried oregano
  • S&P
  • Jarlsberg cheese, sliced
  • Grated Parmesan

Easy as pie casserole, just slice up the eggplant and layer into a casserole dish coated with cooking spray.  You’ll need enough slices for 2 layers.

Sprinkle with S&P and dried oregano while you get moving on the rest of the recipe.

Sauté the onion & ground beef in 1 tsp EVOO until cooked through.  Add the oregano, S&P during this process to taste. 

Once the beef is done add in the tomato paste and a few spoonfuls of water to thin out “sauce” so that the beef has a nice sweet tomato coating.

Then let the layering begin!

Layer of bruschetta (half jar) on the previously seasoned eggplant.

Layer of ground beef mixture (all of it) to cover.

Another layer of sliced eggplant (this should use the rest up).

Another layer of bruschetta topping (this will use up rest of the jar) then on goes the cheese!

At this point I placed into a 375F oven for 30 minutes, then let cool for 30 minutes before popping in the fridge to forget about (if you can 😉 ) until Monday!

Last night, after getting home from work, all I had to do was crank the oven up to 350F and cook this for another 30 minutes (and add a sprinkle of Parm too 😛 ) and dinner was served!

I will say that I loved having such an easy, yet homecooked, meal waiting for us to start the week off right. 

The Man also added that he really liked the unexpected cheese choice (vs. typical mozzarella) on this dish… his exact words “better than anything you could order at a restaurant”!!!

I had planned on an exercise night, hence the easy dinner prep, however if you follow me on Twitter you’ll know that I had a sore throat all day/night yesterday so that just wasn’t in the cards 😦

Thankfully I’m feeling better today though! 

Ugh but no chance for a workout again until Thursday unfortunately, this week post-work time is just too busy?!  Oh well, guess I’ll just have to deal with it 😛

Enjoy your night everyone and I’ll be back for a recap of the Whole Foods cooking demo tomorrow!

 

8 responses to “Eggplant Bruschetta Bake

  1. Killer recipe, Steph! I’m kind of scared to to cook with eggplant, not sure why? This seems easy enough for me to cook up, though!

    We’ll just say you are giving your body a much needed exercise break. 😉 No sweat, lady! Hope you are having fun right now, how could you not be, though?

  2. I this Stephanie, what a great way to use eggplant!! Looks yummy!

    And you deserve a workout break…life does take over sometimes, but just make your next one killer!

  3. oh my gosh- this is like heaven in a dish for me! I love eggplant, tomatoes & cheese…unfortunately, Josh doesn’t like eggplant or tomatoes- grr! Hope the WFs demo is fun!

  4. Is that swiss cheese that you used? I always tend to gravitate towards mozzarella for recipes such as these but I bet swiss would be amazing! I need to expand my cheese horizons.

  5. Oh my gosh this looks heavenly. I used to hate eggplant, and now I lurve it. Especially drowning in tomato sauce!

  6. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife

    wow wow wow. I want this NOW! Eggplant has recently squeaked past broccoli as my favorite veggie.

  7. i am so trying this!! I just got eggplant at the farmers market last weekend and had no idea what to do with it. Really… I only bought it because it was gorgeous!! 🙂 This sounds like dinner tomorrow night. Do you know if other groceries have bruschetta sauce like that? I’ve got a Ukrops and a Food Lion nearby….

  8. Oh no…I hope you feel better, girl! Maybe the WF demo will help? 😉 Have fun!

Leave a Reply

