Whole Foods Cooking Demo – Veg Style

Happy Humpday!  Hope it was a good one 😀

How about a lil’ recap of last night’s Whole Foods Cooking Demo?

Alright!

Last night Fanatic Mom, The Man and Miss EatingBirdFood all met up for another fun cooking class with our favorite chef Jesse at Whole Foods.

The theme was supposed to be grilling, but like most hot & humid Richmond summer nights, there was rain on the forecast.

Not to fear, Chef Jesse had a backup menu planned!

There was a vegetarian theme throughout, and I must say that I was a bit nervous at how it would go over with Mr. Man… guess we’re about to find out?! 😛

Cucumber, Jicama and Chayote Squash Salad w/ Grapefruit Vinaigrette

As much as I hate water chestnuts, I absolutely adore jicama (they are somewhat similar)… weird, I know?!

Haterrrrrrrrrr

I had also never worked with or tried chayote squash, so I was excitedddd 😀

How cute is that thing??

The Man said it looked like a pear that just swallowed a sour lemon haha 😉 

The salad was not only beautiful, but absolutely delicious! 

This was so refreshing, a perfect summer salad to really cool you off.  Would be great for an outdoor meal.

We also learned a fun trick to take some of the ol’ strength out of the red onion before adding to the salad, just soak in some vinegar for a little while and there you go!

The Man and I devoured this, we definitely want to make this again —> guess the vegetarian theme isn’t so bad, right honey 😉

Vichyssoise Soup

A chilled soup made from leek, onion, potatoes and heavy cream.

I really liked the flavor of this rich soup, kind of like a delicious baked potato I would say?  I think it would be best served at room temp (vs. chilled)… but who am I to change all the culinary rules 😉

Asian Tofu Taco w/ Asian slaw

Next up was the real test… tofu.

I knew that I would adore this dish, but wasn’t quite so sure Mr. Man would be in that boat with me if you know what I’m sayin’…

Cubed tofu baked up much like I like to do mine at home.

Then topped with the most amazing Asian slaw consisting of shredded cabbage, carrot, green onion, red pepper, diced ginger and topped with a dressing made of sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, mirin and a touch of mayo (trust me).

Drizzled with some hoison sauce (can’t wait to use this on barbecued items as recommended by the chef, this stuff is awesome!) and served tortilla style.

This was soooooooooooo good!  And guess what… guess who loved it too (although I’m not supposed to leak that info to the internets and all… it IS tofu “babe” hahaha 😛 )

I guess eating tofu just doesn’t sound as cool to men everyone as it does to me… ?

Even the guy who was sitting next to me with his wife whom I initially “overheard” disapproving of this menu item scarfed the WHOLE thing down (and yes, there were expletives involved haha). 

Yep.  That’s how good it was, I kid you not 🙂

As if all this wasn’t enough, we finished the night on a sweet note with a Pineapple Basil Sorbet.

Holy ‘Grail’ is right…  water, pineapple, sugar, fresh basil.  That’s it friends.

And it’s local, from Fork Union, VA!

Not too shabby, not too shabby at all 😛

This was seriously a top notch night of eats!  Thanks again to Chef Jesse for making out tummies happy happy.

If you have a Whole Foods near you, I’d definitely check out the various classes/demos/events that they offer.  I’ve been more than impressed so far and we just love them all.

And with that, I’m out, have a great night everyone!

11 responses to “Whole Foods Cooking Demo – Veg Style

  1. You totally got me at Asian Tofu Taco! Why, oh why can I not live closer, this cooking demo totally seems like it would have been up my alley!

    I also love The Man’s description of the squash. I was looking at it awhile before I kept reading and couldn’t figure out what it looked like. He totally nailed it with his description!

  2. Mmm… those tacos do look delicious! Glad the man liked it too (or not ;)).

    Can’t believe you don’t like water chestnuts though… didn’t think that was possible haha!

  3. Last night was so tasty. I’m pretty sure it was my favorite cooking demo yet!!

  4. I totally want to go to one of these demos. What a great menu at this one!! I’ve never tried chayote squash either- your mans description of how it looks is spot on!

  5. Such a great menu!! I’ve never tried a chayote squash either, but I think it’s kind of cute…reminds me of the plant from Little Shop of Horrors! And YAY for finding a man-approved tofu recipe, I’m going to see if it’s on the WF website because I want to make it for my meat-loving brother!

  6. Looks like you all had a great time at the class. I am not a fan of water chestnuts either but do like jicama too 🙂 Chayote squash is great isn’t ?!?!

  7. savoringsarah

    Oh my golly, everything sounds soooo great! I’m so jealous, I wish we had fun things like that up here! Sheesh! I LOVE that you got the man to attend the VEGGIE themed class!!! BBE FO SHO!!!

  8. Yeah, Tofu doesn’t sound cool to me either.
    But, I also despise water chestnuts. They seriously give me the heebies

  9. I would have loved all of that!!! I can’t wait til we get our whole foods here so I can go to those 🙂

    The Huz was so right, that’s exactly what the chayote squash looks like!

  10. Pingback: A Reunion! « CookinFanatic

  11. Pingback: WF Cooking Demo: Gone Local « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

