Classic Summer Dinner

Well hello everyone, gosh it feels like with all of the summer events/travel going on these past few days it’s been a while since I’ve had a recipe for you friends doesn’t it?!

Look no further though my friends, because tonight this Fanatic was back in the kitchen with some fun fresh goodies cookin’ away! 😛

Lucky for me, the Farm to Family bus was pulled up just down the street from my new office today, so you know I had to make it over there for some fresh veggies while I could.

Remember the first time I visited?

I picked up some beautiful Hanover tomatoes, green peppers, eggplants and zucchini.

Tell me your grocery store veggies look like that… righttttttttttt 😉

Oh and p.s., we ate our very first homegrown tomato last night and have many more on the way… so exciting!

Tonight’s dinner just had to include some of these finds so I decided on a mixed veggie salad to compliment a version of a chicken recipe that I saw on my friend Christie’s blog.

First up, balsamic & basil veggie salad:

  • 1 cucumber, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • fresh basil
  • fresh lemon basil
  • 1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tblsp EVOO
  • cubed white cheddar cheese (or any cheese)
  • salt & pepper

Chop the cucumber, add to a medium sized bowl.

Then pile in the chopped tomatoes, these are Hanover tomatoes from just up the road and they are known to be some of the best around!

I mean seriously, are you drooling yet? 🙂

Next up, the chopped onion, fresh basil (love the extra kick from the lemon basil!), balsamic vinegar, olive oil and S&P.

Last layer, the white cheddar!  I used one of my favorites, a natural New York cheddar from Yancey’s Fancy.

Oh my goodness ya’ll, this salad was so fresh and delicious!

Ahhhh welcome summer and all your beautiful flavors 🙂

Now onwards, to the chicken portion of the dinner.

And guess what, it was our first time using our new grill outside!  Needless to say I was pretty excited.

The marinade ingredients, based on Christie’s recipe that caught my eye the other day.

  • 1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • 1 tblsp EVOO
  • 1 clove chopped garlic
  • S&P

All mixed up and poured over some chicken breasts to marinate for about 30 minutes while the grill got ready for some action.

Then onto the grill and cooked until blackened on the outside and juicy on the inside!

The Man was in charge of this, and I will tell you that he did a most fabulous job!!!!!!!!!!  Little does he know that he may be gaining “dinner duty” a few nights a week now that we have this lil’ contraption 😉

All served up with a side of buttered egg noodles, this was a classic summer dinner that seriously hit the spot.

I must have said 15 times how much I loved this dinner while we were eating (mini-cheerleader type moves may or may not have been involved haha), it was SO GOOD!

The chicken was cooked perfectly, and I loved this simple yet flavorful marinade.

The veggie salad was the perfect compliment to the chicken, cool and refreshing.

Pair that with the buttered egg noodles and you got yourself a winner 🙂

Okay okay I’ll stop going on and on about our dinner and wish all of you a great Tuesday night, see you tomorrow!

10 responses to “Classic Summer Dinner

  1. Swoon, I am loving your summer dinner! It looks so fresh and delicious. And how exciting about having your first tomato last night. I can’t wait until my tomato plant finally decides to start churning out the beauties, I am patiently waiting…

    Have a great night girlfriend!

  2. Great meal. The veggie salad looks out of this world. So fresh. ahhh- homegrown tomatoes. They taste a world away from food store tomatoes

  3. Lots of veggies for me, but they look really delicious!! 🙂

  4. cookeatburn

    Ah – the veggies! Especially the green pepper. This is weird, but I think they look so ugly in the winter when they are all puny. That one looks perfect though :).

  5. Those vegetables are so perfect, they look fake! Like TV show props or something! Of course we’re all drooling! Can’t wait to see what you do with the eggplant!

  6. Those veggies are so gorgeous! I love the idea of that truck, I wish we had something like that here.

  7. The balsamic salad looks great, so fresh and summery! I’ve been looking for a good summer salad to use for my dad’s birthday on Friday, and this would be perfect!

  8. That is the most perfect looking green pepper!

    I love plain buttered egg noodles. Reminds me of my childhood.

  9. Love all of those veggies! This looks so tasty! Great blog!

    xxMK
    Delightful Bitefuls

  10. Pingback: Pineapple Tomato? « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

