A Twist on a Classic

Hi-dee-ho neighbors 😛

Well most of yesterday was spent at The Man’s parent’s house laying by the pool with these goobers…

Senior & Junior

And yes, they definitely are sitting on chairs IN the pool.  I don’t ask questions anymore…

We got home just in time to get a fabulous Sunday night meal on the table too.

A version of stuffed peppers that is a twist on a classic, adapted from this recipe.

Fun fact:  I used to make this recipe for The Man in our old row house when we first started dating and I was in my cooking “younger years!”

It wasn’t until the other day when I ‘rediscovered’ my recipe binder and remembered how fabulous these are and decided they must be made again.  Asap.

  • 1/2 lb. grass-fed ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1-2 tsp fresh ginger, chopped
  • 2-3 tblsp tomato paste
  • water (about 1/2 cup)
  • 2-3 tblsp soy sauce
  • S&P and olive oil
  • cooked brown rice (about 1.5 cups)
  • 3 green pepper
  • fresh Parm

The addition of the soy sauce + ginger really gives this dish a special touch… it’s my favorite stuffed pepper recipe by far!

Start by sauteing the ground beef and onion in about 1 tblsp olive oil.  Season w/ salt & pepper.  Add your garlic & ginger once the beef & onions are almost cooked (don’t want to burn ’em!)

Once the beef mixture is cooked, add in the tomato paste, water, soy sauce, and cooked brown rice (I had pre-cooked this a couple weeks back and froze it for easy use).

This was my first time making these with the rice, as I wanted to bulk up the filling to fill 3 peppers worth.  This recipe is fabulous with our without it though!

The mixture should be slightly liquidy, which will cook off as you continue to simmer on med-low for a few minutes.

The last step is to add in some freshly grated Parm, as much as you like.  Here’s the almost-finished product!

Hollow out your local farmer’s market green peppers (ahhh the smell of these… delightful) and make room for the filling 🙂

Into a 325F oven for 30 minute they go.  Towards the end of baking time it’s probably best to add some additional grated Parm too, you know, for good measure 😉

Toasty.

To serve alongside this dish I whipped up what is quickly becoming one of our favorite summer salads:

Tomato, Cucumber, Basil Salad

  • 2 Hanover tomatoes, chopped
  • handful yellow cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 cucumbers, chopped
  • handful fresh basil, chopped
  • Sharp white cheddar cheese, cubed
  • balsamic vinegar (3-4 tblsp?)
  • olive oil (1 tsp)
  • S&P

This salad didn’t contain just any ol’ cucumber though, check this bad boy out.

I think this is a Japanese cucumber based on the bumpy skin and long length?  Either way, it was deelish!

Perfect way to end the weekend… now if only the weekend could just last longer 😛

Enjoy your Monday friends!

6 responses to “A Twist on a Classic

  1. We love stuffed peppers! I actually like them so much that I eat the veggie parts!

  2. lowandbhold

    Haha, lovin’ the pool chairs. Too funny.

    I love those stuffed peppers. YUM!

  3. savoringsarah

    Stuffed peppers are the SHIZ! I love the idea of the soy & ginger…makes you go hmmm!?

    At the resorts we have stayed at in Mexico, I would say I spend 85% of my days on the in-water loungers. freakin awesome!

  4. Oh Steph, you know how much I love my stuffed peppers! I could eat them at least once a week. I agree, perfect way to wrap up a weekend. Hope your having a wonderul Monday!

  5. Stuffed peppers are the best. Then again, I’m always in favor of any meal that involves edible dishware. No cleanup? Yes please.

  6. I love stuffed peppers, such an easy delicious meal.

Leave a Reply

