Not your traditional eggplant dinner

Remember that ol’ recipe binder I mentioned yesterday… ?

Which I also happened to write about way back when last year!

Ummm so I can’t believe I’ve been inadvertently hiding it from myself (??) for the past who knows how long hahaha?!

Anywho, upon a flip through this treasure I came across a few recipes that I had set aside to try.

One being:  Southeast Asian Style Eggplant

As much as I love Italian-based eggplant dishes (read: tomatoes & cheese) sometimes it’s fun to venture outside the box and try something new!

Plus with the recent farmer’s market eggplant purchase, I just knew that this was going to be the one…

They say when you know, you know, right? 😉

Inspired by this recipe from the Vegetable Genius, here were the ingredients I used:

  • 1 eggplant, sliced into 1/2″ thick, 2″ long (about) pieces
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 1 tbslp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 poblano pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 3 tblsp soy sauce
  • 2 spoonfuls brown sugar
  • juice of 1 lime
  • S&P

Start with a saute of the onion & eggplant in olive oil.  Add some S&P too, of course 😉

After about 10 minutes over medium heat (and once the onion & eggplant start to get tender & cooked) add in the garlic and poblano for another 2-3 minutes or so.

While this cooks, mix together the water, rice vinegar, brown sugar and lime juice.  Once the sugar dissolves, add the sauce to the veg and turn the heat down to med-low while you go about your business… or wait for your man to come home, whatev 😉

Add in the fresh mint at the very end, giving it another 5 minutes or so to cook.

If you want, serve over some sort of rice or pasta.

I chose angel hair pasta because I didn’t have the time or patience to cook brown rice tonight to be honest 😛

And guess what, the pasta was legit with this dish, no lie.

A side salad rounded out the meal, our favorite!

I absolutely adored this eggplant dish, the sauce had the perfect blend of sweetness & sourness and the fresh mint added such a dimension to the meal.

Add some more hot peppers (poblano, jalapeno, etc) if you want some more heat & aren’t a wuss like me 😉

I just wrote to mini-Fanatic that I would be making this dish for her asap, she’s a fellow veggie lovah as well.  So good!

And I must say that I was a lil’ apprehensive on how this vegetarian dinner with a mix of different flavors was going to go over with The Man…

Guess what?  He had serving round 1 AND round 2!  He loved it.

And we both agreed that it paired beautifully w/ the thin & simple angel hair pasta 😀

This recipe is a keeper!

I need to visit my recipe binder more often, take that internet.

Do you have a recipe book/binder where you keep track of your favorite recipes, your notes and/or recipes you want to try?

And p.s. while you’re at it, try out The Vegetable Genius’ Portabello Parmesan if you want some seriously great flavor… I made this for The Man ‘way back when’ and it was a hit… guess I see another summer dish coming soon! 😛

Have a happy Tuesday!

6 responses to “Not your traditional eggplant dinner

  1. YUM! Kind of like an eggplant stir fry. I never would have thought to put these flavors together- YUM! I think of my blog as my recipe binder. New recipes are book marked then added to the blog when I make them 🙂 Hope you’re doing well. Sorry I have been MIA

  2. I looove eggplant and this dish looks wonderful! I have four binders stuffed full of recipe printouts and handwritten notes, etc. I go to them often!

  3. savoringsarah

    Wheeeee! Sweet n sour eggplant is my number one favorite thing to order in asian restaurants (if it is on the menu). And i always get it with lo mein! So you are right on par with the noodles. Super yummy!

    Althought, I ADORE your addition of fresh mint. I bet it was ridic!

    Ps kinda in love with that green place mat. so fresh!

  4. The eggplant recipe looks healthy and delicious. I don’t have many idea making eggplant even though I love it so much. Now I will try this recipe 🙂

  5. Great, healthful meal! I’m not a big eggplant fan. I think I should try it again.

    I have a big binder that I keep my recipes in, organized by category. My mom actually made it for me when I bought my first house 🙂 She went thru her recipe binders and pulled out our family favorites and some recipes from my great-grandma! It’s sentimental. I add my own to the binder now and throw away some that I don’t care for. It’s great to have and I should use it more, rather than running to Google real quick when looking for a recipe!

  6. Okay, I’m adding eggplant to my list of things to try! Why does it scare me so? 😉

    I definitely have a binder! I recipes in there from friends/family, and of course bloggy recipes. 🙂 Of course it should tell you something about me that well over 1/2 of the recipes are desserts. LOL

Leave a Reply

