Italian Stuffed Squash

Special shout out to my fellow Richmonders, check out Man vs. Food tonight at 9pm on the Travel Channel where Adam visits 3 local restaurants in our area!!!

So after work I treated myself to a trip to Tom Leonards to pick up a few fresh essentials… and Tom himself started up a convo with me and shucked some fresh corn for me to taste too!  Local, from King William county, and really good!

I also chatted Tom up about where many of their items come from, so awesome to find out how local & wholesome his products are, love that place.

But enough about my shopping obsession, how about some dinner?

Which tonight was based around this beauty from the farmer’s market:

Love these squash!  They are a bigger than 8-ball squash and I think are called Ronde de Nice?

Either way, perfect for stuffing!

The ingredients:

  • 2 round squashies
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • sliced black olives (not shown)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tblsp bread crumb
  • fresh basil
  • fresh parsley
  • fresh Parm
  • olive oil
  • S&P

Start by hollowing out the squashies using a melon baller (cut the top off first).

Put the squash into boiling water, covered, for 5-7 minutes to soften up and make the baking process quicker.

Prepare the filling by giving the onion a saute in olive oil, adding the squash insides after 3-4 minutes.  Season w/ S&P and let cook another 5 minutes.  Then add the tomato, olives and fresh herbs for another 3-4 minutes until combined.

In go the bread crumb and some freshly grated Parm to finish.

Then stuff your squashies!  Add an extra layer of cheese on the bottom if ya want, The Man loves extra cheese too 🙂

Put in a 350F oven for 20-30 minutes until tender & done!

Check out the slice-age on this bad boy!!!  So freaking good.

And guess who raved about yet another vegetarian dish… oh yea, that would be Mr. Man himself 😛

Win!  This was fabulous.

To go alongside I picked up some andouille sausage while at Tom Leonards, which I knew would be a good addition to the baked beans for The Man while I kept mine veg style.

I just topped the sausage with some baked beans (to which I added some fresh diced onion) and put in the oven for a few.  Same with mine, sans sausage.

His & Hers bb (baked beans)!

Love how you can really “kick baked beans up another notch” and make them truly delicious.

The Man seriously raved about this dinner the whole time we were eating, which surprised me a bit but I couldn’t have agreed more!

If you haven’t tried stuffing squash I highly recommend it.  It’s also a great way to get those who don’t always prefer squash to really appreciate & actually love it 😉

Alright well gotta run but before I do, just a reminder to enter my Coconut Chips giveaway!!!

5 responses to “Italian Stuffed Squash

  1. Ohh, I’ve never thought about stuffing squash before! Thanks for the wonderful idea, friend. 🙂

    I’ve had a serious hankering for some baked beans & ruffle chips. I need to get on that, stat.

  2. Oh, yum – I’ve never heard of that type of squash before! Sounds delicious. And I love the idea of stuffed squash…I’m going to try that for sure!

  3. Your stuffed squashes always look so good! I really need to pick up a can of veg baked beans, I’ve never had them but they’re sounding so good right now.

  4. This is such a great idea!! It would be such a pretty entree for a summer dinner party…yum 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying your week so far!

  5. My husband and I watched that last night – I lived in Richmond for a year 20 years ago, pretty sure those weren’t even around then!

    While I love spicy food, those wings he ate were just plain painful to watch!

Leave a Reply

