Fresh off the vine

103 degrees… ahhh extreme heat, can’t say I missed ya πŸ˜‰

But seriously, wow, some pretty crazy intense heat is hitting the east coast and Richmond is no exception these past few weeks!

But enough about the weather, let’s move on to the food πŸ˜›

Tonight’s dinner was a quick n’ easy inside feast consisting of some farmer’s market finds!

Italian Sausage & Peppers

Last weekend at the farmer’s market I picked up some local Italian sausage from my favorite pork guy.

And knowing my boyfriend & his love for Italian sausage & peppers I knew just what to do with them πŸ™‚

  • 2 local green peppers, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • fresh basil
  • fresh fennel
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 tblsp olive oil

First I browned the sausage over med-high heat until crisp on the outside.

Then I covered them with water + lid and let simmer until done cooking, about 15 minutes.

To assemble the veg I gave the onions & peppers a saute in the olive oil until gold & tender.

Seasoned w/ salt & pepper of course. Β I added in the garlic + fresh herbs towards the end.

Served in some hot dog buns w/ yellow mustard and voila!

I will be purchasing these again, they were delicious!!!!

To go alongside we had a side salad featuring another tomato from our garden – so fresh & right off the vine!

Plus one of the most gi-normous cucumbers evahhhhh haha πŸ˜‰

We also have some cherry gold tomatoes, black olives, black pepper & oregano in there. Β Topped w/ our favorite dressing —> white balsamic + olive oil. Β Try it, you’ll be in love too πŸ˜›

Perfection.

Well after a 10 hour work day I’m beat. Β Time to go snuggle up with my 2 favorites πŸ˜€

Have a great night everyone!

9 responses to “Fresh off the vine

  1. Delicious looking dinner lady. Have a wonderful and relaxing evening. πŸ™‚

  2. Way to cook up a sweet meal ( even after a long day). The peppers and onions look fabulous. I need to hit up my local market and get some more meat for the joshers.

  3. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife

    I just saw these made on that food network show ‘cooking with the neelys’ and although I dislike them, the dish looks delish!!

  4. That is a ridiculous cucumber. Seriously. My hubby would freak because he hates cucumbers, and to see one that large… he’d be sad (more to eat).

  5. savoringsarah

    Oh my golly. Can’t even tell you how many TWSS’s popped into my head- between the farm fresh juicy sausage πŸ˜‰ and that HU-MUNGO cuke!! double winks for that guy! Bahaha! I’ve been struck with a case of gutter-mind!

  6. This looks really delicious!! I don’t usually go for italian sausage, but with peppers and in a bun I would totally eat it and omg, now that I’ve typed that out, it sounds pretty TWSS!! πŸ˜‰

  7. MAJOR kudos to you for whipping up a meal after such a long work day. I would have totally dipped in to my frozen meal stash (which is quickly depleting before my eyes. I just can’t find the motivation to cook when it’s so stinkin’ hot out!)

  8. Ahhh, my hubby is a HUGE sausage + peppers & onions fan! I like to cook up a good chicken sausage for myself with all those lovely caramelized peppers & onions. YUM! πŸ™‚
    P.S. – That cuke is CRAAAAZY!

  9. Pingback: Nostalgic « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

