Pineapple Tomato?

Sunday night, how’d you get here already?!

Well I can’t complain, this weekend was just what we needed, pretty close to perfect 😀

So where’d we leave off last…?

Oh yes, the farm stand pizza from yesterday’s lunch!

After I munched on that Fanatic Mom and I headed out for some afternoon adventures…

Check out this fabulous snack I picked up while visiting the new Farm to Family store (remember the bus I told ya’ll about… well now they have a store location too!)

Pineapple tomato.

Ever had one?

Not I.  In fact, I had no idea that they even existed…

But topped with a light sprinkling of salt & pepper it made the most perfect pre-dinner summer snack!

I can’t stop eating plain tomatoes this time of year, just sliced w/ S&P soooo goooood, I think I have a problem haha 😉

Ok tomato lurve fest over…

So later that night we had the most fabulous dinner at The Wine Loft with my parents to celebrate Fanatic Mom’s birthday.

Sorry friends, didn’t bring the camera, but let’s just say that the food, drinks and company were all divine 🙂

I woke up this morning to gorgeous sunshine and hot weather… and you know that only means one thing!

POOL TIME!

Followed by mid-afternoon mojitos to “cool off” 😉

Bring it.

Before I knew it it was time to get dinner goin’…

Tonight’s menu was inspired by some fresh North Carolina tuna I picked up at Tom Leonards this afternoon.

The marinade included these guys:

  • 1 tblsp soy sauce
  • 1 tblsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tblsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • black pepper
  • 1 tsp sugar (unpic)

I normally prefer my tuna very rare (example:  here), but tonight I was in the mood for it to be cooked through…

So that’s what went down!

Complete with some fresh farmer’s market corn on the cob

I eat mine sans butter, black pepper only.  Yet another “weird” habit I suppose, but butter just ruins vegetables sometimes I think… this is one of those times for me!

A mini-potato plus a garden salad to round things out!

Butter lettuce (favorite. lettuce. ever. aka velvet lettuce!), green pepper, cucumber, gold cherry tomatoes and Hanover tomatoes topped with Asian sesame vinaigrette, wonderous.

What a feast to end a fabulous weekend!

Everything was fantastic 😀

And now we are getting ready for another episode of True Blood (love this show!) and putting our Monday game faces on…

Good thing next Monday I’ll be closer to where that fresh tuna dinner came from than to the office – booyah!

Happy Sunday night all 😛

14 responses to “Pineapple Tomato?

  1. A pineapple tomato? That sounds incredible. I am obsessed with plain tomatoes, chopped with a little bit of salt. ……..ahmazing! Glad you had such a nice day/weekend

  2. ha, it’s so fun to see that tomato! We planted some this year, but I’ve never seen one in real life 🙂

  3. I love eating plain tomatoes with just a little bit of salt on them – yum! I am going to have to try a pineapple tomato!!

    And, I’m gonna have to go to Tom Leonards after work one day – that place sounds amazing!

  4. I’ve never heard of a pineapple tomato. Sounds interesting!

    I totally agree about butter on veggies. Why mess with a good thing?

  5. Those mojitos are killing me! I’m about to hop on a plane and head to your house for one!

  6. Pineapple tomato? That sounds freaking amazing. I love love love tomatoes and pineapple is one of my favorite fruits, so I can’t even imagine how delicious it would be!! I had a mojito this weekend and it was very disappointing…yours looks so much better! Hope your week is off to a great start!

  7. I was craving a mojito last night like it was my job. I think that means I should get the necessary ingredients to have on hand this week. 🙂

  8. Pineapple tomato?! Nope, never heard of it! I’m not a HUGE fan of tomatoes, but I’d definitely try that. And they are SO SO good for you! Would you say it’s more sweet than a regular one?

  9. so what you’re saying is Mr. pineapple and Ms. tomato have been doing the freak nasty?! Scandalous!

  10. mmmm mom definitely made me some of that yummy corn last night..and i ate salmon..who am i?!

    lets please make mojitos next week at the BEACH! YAY!

  11. I definitely have a thing for tomatoes in the summer – with just a little bit of salt. YUM! All this food looks wonderful!

  12. Pingback: Wanna-be Tabbouleh « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

