Wanna-be Tabbouleh

Two. More. Days!

After the past 2 weeks at work believe-you-me, I’m ready as all get out for this upcoming vacayyyy 😉

Until then, time to keep on truckin….!

Tonight’s dinner was a lil’ trip around the globe, including a new recipe that I am really excited to share with ya’ll!

Tandoori Chicken

I picked up this spice blend at the Indian market a while back and have been looking forward to using it again…

Well tonight was the night!

I made a marinade for the chicken breasts using 1 container plain yogurt, 3 cloves finely chopped garlic, 1 tblsp finely chopped ginger and a few spooonfuls of the tandoori masala powder.

Then let the chicken hang out in this mixture for about an hour and a half while I tried out some Pilates on ExerciseTV (grrr my favorite Yoga program I was planning on doing was g-o-n-e!!!)

Anywho, after it’s time in the marinade I cooked it up stove top style….

The yogurt-based marinade really makes the chicken moist too.

After it continued cooking (covered) until done it came out with the most beautiful caramelized “crust” — ahh decadent!

The spices on this were outta control good, loved loved loved it 😛

“Wanna-Be Tabbouleh”

As a side dish I decided to transform some brown basmati rice

Into a “rice salad” of sorts using these friends!

  • 1-1.5 cups cooked brown basmati rice
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • black olives, sliced
  • Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 candy onion, chopped
  • 4 tblsp white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • S&P
  • dried oregano

Wait, candy onion, what the heck is that?

Yea, that was my first thought too!  Got this from the same place I picked up that superb-u-lous pineapple tomato… 🙂

A bit sweeter than your average onion I was told, which seemed just perfect raw for a salad (I ate a raw, plain piece too, it was so good and The Man confirmed no harsh onion aftertaste 😉 !)

Combined w/ the brown rice I guess you could say it was a sort of take on tabbouleh?  Sans feta.

I served my “wanna-be tabbouleh” over some fresh lettuce 😀

Whatever you want to call it though, make sure to call it deliciousssssss! 😛

I loved this!!! It was somewhat sweet but also tangy and the flavors just worked so perfectly together.  The texture was perfect, it wasn’t the least bit dry and the vegetables plus rice just worked.

Score.

The Man also gave it 2 big thumbs up, which is hard for me to get when it comes to rice (which he doesn’t really love)!

I think that this needs to go on the dinner menu during vacay week Fanatic ladies… would be perfect *hint hint* 😉

And now I’m off to enjoy some freshly cut ice cold watermelon and snuggle with my favorites!

Hopefully we don’t get another monsoon at midnight tonight and I can get some good sleep – what was up with that RVA weather??

Night friends!

8 responses to “Wanna-be Tabbouleh

  1. Lundberg brown basmati is my favorite rice. That brand just rocks my face off at rice 🙂

    The dinner looks delish and HORRAY for vaca soon!!!

  2. We’ve been getting monsons in SC too. And since Charleston is the low country, our backyard is pretty much a swamp! Great dinner. The chicken looks cooked perfectly. Thumbs up to you lady 😉 And watermelon is the best summer dessert. Yayy for almost vaca

  3. I love tabbouleh. My mom makes it without feta, so I think it’s the real deal, not a wanna-be at all 🙂

  4. Okay, you officially get the coolest produce evah! 🙂 Candy onion? I looooove me some onions. That DOES look delicious…I love rice dishes! And it does look like a perfect vacation meal, too. Can I come?!

  5. OMG mom made this chicken tonight and i’m in love hahah so so good! i was more interested in the chicken than the veggies which says a lot 🙂

    cant wait to shop tomorrow!

  6. Mmmmm I could eat some ice cold watermelon right about now!!

    Your dish looks amazing. I am loving brown rice lately too!

    xxoo

  7. Pingback: Let the Beach Adventures Begin! « CookinFanatic

  8. hello,

    Amira Basmati rice is AWESOME!. I normally fry an egg with some ginger and onions then a little salt, pepper, and sugar. Toss with soy sauce and garnish with fresh chopped carrots. Best breakfast ever.

Leave a Reply

