It’s all in the wine? ;)

Last night after an awesome Core Yoga session from YogaDownload (anyone else love this site as much as me?!?!) I came up with a stuffed pepper recipe on a whim that both The Man and I have deemed the “best version yet”!

He thinks it was the inclusion of sausage vs. the usual ground beef that kicked it up a notch… I’ll attribute it to the addition of the wine to the recipe this time around 😉  But whatevs!

Sausage Stuffed Peppers w/ Tomatoes & Wine

  • 2 green peppers
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • fresh fennel
  • fresh basil

  • Italian pork sausages (local!)
  • cooked brown rice (about 1 to 1.5 cups)
  • white wine (about 1/4 cup)
  • S&P
  • sprinkle of red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • cheese (I used Parm & Mozzarella)

These sausages are the best – all REAL meat (no weird parts ewww) and from my favorite Amish farmer at the farmer’s market who is leaving me after this week…. nooooooooooo!

Saute up the onion in the EVOO for about 5 minutes, S&P of course.  Then add the sausages, which I removed the casings from and made into “ground sausage” – cook until close to done.  Add in the chopped tomato and garlic at the end and season w/ S&P again (all about the layers people!)

Then in goes the pre-cooked brown rice and your herbs, plus a dash of white wine for flavor & moisture!  I also sprinkled some red pepper flakes in the mix as well 😉

While the rice mixture is cooking, give the hollowed out peppers a quick bath in some boiling water for about 5 minutes to soften up.  Then stuff with the rice mixture, layering some cheese of your choice on both the bottom and the top!

Into a 375F oven for about 20 minutes and you are good to go 😀

I added some Frank’s hot sauce to top mine and served it with a fresh tomato/basil/balsamic salad.  So “summer” of me, right?! 😛

I’m really going to miss these North Carolina tomatoes once they are gone, I think they have Virginia tomatoes beat as sad as it is to say…

Alright friends, hope you’re enjoying your week and see ya back soon!

7 responses to “It’s all in the wine? ;)

  1. Yummy!! Love stuffed peppers! Never thought about adding a bit of wine though!!

    And, I love how your pepper looks like a heart! 🙂

  2. Great recipe. Love the use of local meat too! Amish farmers make some rocking stuff- ESPECIALLY baked goods. I need more yoga in my life

  3. Those stuffed peppers look unbelievable! I have to make that soon! Just came across your blog and absolutely love it! You have a new follower! xo

  4. What pretty presentation!! Those peppers look deeeeelish!! 🙂

  5. Stuffed peppers always look so good, but I never think to make them. I need to change that!

  6. Adore. And thanks for putting stuffed peppers back on my radar! They’re the perfect meal for any season – in the winter they’re cozy, in the summer, they’re so fresh!

  7. I haven’t done yoga download in a long time, I need to download some more!! And mmmm those peppers look so yummy. I love me some stuffed peppers!

Leave a Reply

