Sufferin’ Succotash!

Hey hey friends!

Well I’ve got another great recipe for you to get ya through the week 😀

How about it?!

Corn, Edamame & Summer Squash Succotash

I based this recipe off one that caught my eye on Cooking Light, making a few modifications and changes to ingredients to “fanatic-i-fy” the dish.

The line-up

Fanatic version included:

  • 1/2 package frozen organic corn
  • 1/2 package shelled edamame
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 summer squash, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tblsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • juice of 1 lime
  • fresh thyme (about 1 tblsp)
  • S&P

First up I boiled the corn & edamame per the directions (about 5 minutes), drained well and set aside.

In that same sauce pan, I gave the onion & summer squash a sauté in EVOO for about 5 minutes.

Onion & squash sauté

Then I added back in the cooked corn & edamame plus the garlic to let heat through.

Edamame & corn

Last came the thyme, rice vinegar, lime juice, S&P to finish the dish.  I let it sit over low heat for about 15 minutes so all the flavors could get happy 🙂

Served up w/ some Frank’s crack hot sauce this dish far surpassed my expectations!

Edamame & corn succotash topped w/ hot sauce!

Something about the combination of the rice vinegar & lime juice gave this recipe such a fresh & deliciously different taste!  I really really really enjoyed this 😛

To add some extra bulk to this veggie-fied dinner I made up a fresh salad of romaine, tomato (last North Carolina ‘mater 😦 ), onion, rest of summer squash (which I steamed for a minute first), cubed Colby Jack cheese, salt, pepper and oregano.

Salad beast

I am loving the combos of flavor on this salad!

Perfectly light & refreshing dinner for a steamy summer night, ya think 😉

Edamame is such a fabulous item to keep stocked in your kitchen, in a pinch it can stand in as a main protein source for your meal and offer up such a fun change from the norm!

You can also feel free to call them “weird pea things” as The Man does.

Example 1:  “Girlfriend is makin’ some weird pea and corn succotashhhhh that smells pretty good, but has weird peasssss…” all in song form (yes, this is what I get to deal with all the time hahaha)

But anywho, let’s save that for another time shall we 😉

Happy Wednesday to you all!

7 responses to “Sufferin’ Succotash!

  1. Yum! This is so something I would love! I’m going to recreate it soon! Wish I would have read this post before I went to the grocery store today 😦

  2. Oh my goodness, we seriously need to hang out and go on a double date because Mike breaks out into song lyrics all.the.time. Hilarious.

  3. Awesome. Love vegetarian dishes like this that still pack protein and flavor. Josh made very similar comments about edamame….now he loves it too

  4. wow I wish that I had everything to make this tonight. I love vegetarian dishes!

    xo

  5. YUM!! AS we speak, I am sitting at my desk, flipping through a cooking light, and bookmarking a recipe for grilled salmon on a roasted corn “relish” that looks IDENTICAL to your succotash! Fate!?

  6. Pingback: Boring is better than bad « Low… and behold!’s Blog

  7. Pingback: Boring is better than bad | Low… and behold!'s Blog

Leave a Reply

