Food lottery!

Well the beach vacay must have seriously kicked my cookin’ mojo into high gear because this week’s meals have been top notch!

*Toots own horn*

Okay but really, I pretty much attribute the deliciousness of our meals recently to the wonderful fresh summer flavors that are all around us right now! Smiley

For instance, in last night’s meal:

Pico de Gallo

Fresh summer flavors!

Pico de gallo is a fresh uncooked condiment made from chopped tomato, onion, chilis and other ingredients such as lemon or lime juice, fresh cilantro, cucumber, radish or fruit such as mango.  It can be used much like salsa, but since it contains less liquid it can also be used as a main ingredient in dishes such as tacos and fajitas!

I love making this at home, it’s one of my favorite flavors out of our kitchen Smiley

Fresh flavors

My pico de gallo contained:

  • 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1 poblano pepper, seeds removed & chopped
  • bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • juice of 1 lime
  • sea salt
  • black pepper

Chop chop!

I like to make this at least an hour before we are going to eat it so that the flavors really have a chance to get to know each other.

Dishes like this definitely get better with time Smiley

Pico de Gallo

In an effort to use up some items in our fridge, I decided that this pico de gallo would need make an appearance in a creative egg dish of sorts tonight!

Fiesta!

Let's get this party started!

Flour tortillas topped w/ monteray jack and colby jack cheese, broiled until cheese is melted and tortillas begin to crisp up.

Step 1

Topped w/ scrambled eggs plus egg whites (3 eggs + 3 egg whites for 2 servings)

Step 2

And then a generous helping of the pico de gallo!

Step 3

Wow was this good!  I knew it would be tasty, but this was yet another dish that totally exceeded my expectations.  Totally been a theme this week and I can’t say I’m upset about it Smiley

To go with I had some corn topped with more of the pico de gallo

Pico on everythingggg!

So versatile, no?

On a side note, The Man and I had some of these bad boys for dessert

Nature's donut?

Ever had a donut peach?

Not I.  And I think my life was incomplete until now Smiley

These are local from Charlottesville and have the most sweet and juicy flavor of any peach ever.  Plus I love their perfect eating size, makes for the exact perfect bite each time!

The Man instructed me to go buy a dozen more.  I kid you not.

I feel like I hit the food lottery this week!!!!!

Anywho, I hope ya’ll are having a great week so far and if you’ll excuse me, I have to get back to work go scout out a dozen more of these donut bad boys before they are all gone Smiley

TGIAF!

4 responses to “Food lottery!

  1. lowandbhold

    Oh my gosh, that looks amazing! You really have hit the food lottery. I’m jealous!

  2. Yum! Mexican <3. We might be grabbing some tonight and your dishes made me more excited about it. Love fresh pico!

  3. man coming home from vacay it always takes me a while to get back to cooking!

  4. Mmm… I need to make pico de gallo more. It is so good and I think I forget how easy it is, too! Way to score with the unexpectedly delicious dinner :).

Leave a Reply

