Orecchiette!

Ever since The man ordered the seafood orecchiette while we were out last Friday, I’ve been looking forward to using it in my own kitchen.

Well last night was the night, so I just pulled some ingredients together and came up with a fabulous new recipe using my new pasta finds:

Creamy Ham & Swiss Veggie Orecchiette

I was really in the mood for a creamy cheesy pasta dish, but also wanted to try to keep it on the light side as well as work in some veggie friends!  Here’s how it came together.

  • 2/3 box orecchiette
  • 3 yellow zucchini, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 container mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tblsp EVOO
  • S&P
  • fresh parsley

For the “lower fat” creamy cheesy sauce:

  • 1 tblsp butter
  • 1 tbslp flour
  • 2 cups 2% milk
  • 1/2 block Atlantique Swiss, shredded (approx. 1 cup)

This type of swiss is The Man’s favorite, but packs a lot of punch so you don’t need a ton to get a great flavor!

Sauté the onion and squash in EVOO (season w/ S&P) for about 10 minutes, then add the mushrooms and cook another 5 minutes or so until all veggies are nearly done.  In goes the garlic and fresh parsley for another couple minutes and you’re set.

While the veggies were sautéing I boiled the pasta and worked on the cream sauce.

To make the sauce, melt butter in saucepan then whisk in flour for about a minute until slightly brown.  Add in milk and continue to whisk occasionally while you bring to boil, then turn down heat to medium and let sauce reduce & thicken for 5 minutes.  Add in shredded cheese and let melt through and you’re done!

I also sliced up some honey ham to add to the dish – ham & swiss are a match made in heaven!

Threw together the veggies, pasta and ham

Mixed in the cream sauce and placed into a baking dish.  Popped into a 375F oven for 10 minutes to finish up and here you have it:

Served w/ a side salad with tons of veggies & Asian sesame vinaigrette.

I love this orecchiette pasta, it has such a hearty texture which went wonderfully w/ the veggies, ham and cheesy sauce!  This dinner was definitely a winner!

After stuffing myself silly I watched The Bachelorette finale which I must say was pretty good.  So, did anyone else predict that Ali would pick Roberto in the end??  Did you want Roberto to win?

I had a feeling from the start that their chemistry would last through the end so it wasn’t a huge shock however all the spoilers said she’d pick no one so that kind of had me fooled!

Have a great Tuesday all Smiley

3 responses to “Orecchiette!

  1. Fabulous meal. I love orecchiette pasta- its so cute. And pasta mixed with veggies is always so satisfying. I’m not a bachelor/bachelorette fan. Hope you have a good one as well

  2. Can you please come and cook for me this week because my motivation is lacking and that looks drool worthy!

    I knew they had the chemistry from the get go but was hoping for some sort of shocker. It is a bit dry and boring when you can call it all the way from the beginning but they are a cute couple so I hope they last!

  3. I thought she was going to pick him and he’d say no, but I’m happy it went down the way it did. He’s dead sexy 🙂

Leave a Reply

