Ricotta + Tomato Heaven!

Happy *almost* Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

End of the week, how did you creep up on me so fast?  Phew it was a busy one, so I am happily welcoming the weekend (yea yea, what’s new haha) 😉

I’m also super excited to share this recipe I made tonight with you guys!

Let’s just say that after making it through today’ early evening horrific storm (again?!??) I was ready to release some tension in the kitchen.  We had flash floods, severe winds & lightening and even tornado warnings all starting around 5pm.  Fun Thursday no?

My Dad’s car battery also died right in the midst of the worst of the storm – right where said tornado warnings were – and somehow he got it jump started and made it home through what he said was one of the worst drives of his life.  As soon as he pulled in the driveway, turned off the car, tried to start it again – guess what?  Car dead.  Thank you higher power for watching over him and getting him home safely!

Same w/ The Man, who was also coming from the southside of town where the storm was the worst.  A car got struck by lightening on the highway he takes home – while he was driving home.

Let’s just say I was one happy camper when my 2 main men made it home safe and sound.  Homegirl does not handle that kind of stress well 😛

Okay, back to dinner!

Tomato, Ricotta & Italian Sausage Penne

This recipe was inspired by one I spotted on FoodandWine.com, one of my favorite recipe websites!

It featured some of my favorite farmer’s market Italian sausages, which I’m sure ya’ll all know how much I love (hello all meat, no “parts!” tmi?)

The stars of the show included:

  • 4 Italian sausages
  • 1 package whole wheat penne
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tblsp EVOO
  • 1 container chopped tomatoes (260z.)
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup ricotta
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parm
  • red pepper flakes
  • dried oregano
  • dried basil
  • fresh basil
  • S&P

I know I know, sounds like a lot of ingredients, but seriously most of this stuff you probably already have in your pantry!

I’ve also steered away from canned tomatoes these days after reading this article, so was excited to find these Pomi tomatoes which comes in a box and doesn’t present the BPA dangers their fellow canned versions do 🙂

I got things started by giving the onions a saute in the EVOO, adding the garlic towards then end when they were soft/cooked.

I also cooked the sausages stovetop until done and boiled the pasta while the veggies were cooking.  Then got ready to assemble the sauce!

After taking the sausages out of the sauce pan and draining the small amount of grease remaining, I added the tomatoes, wine, onion/garlic mixture and brought to a boil (soaking up all the flavorrrrrr!)  Then turned the heat down to medium and added in the spices.

Next I sliced up the sausages and added them into the sauce mixture as well, along with the fresh basil!  At this point I turned the heat down to medium-low before adding the remaining ingredients.

Last, but most certainly not least, in went the shredded Parm and ricotta cheese to blend.

And the sauce was ready!  Ready to pour over some delicious whole wheat pasta that is 😛

Spectacular!  I loved the flavor/texture that the creamy ricotta added to this dish and the sausages really gave it such a nice Italian touch too 😉

Of course I couldn’t forget my veggies, which included some cute summer squash that needed using!

A quick microwave trip w/ water, oregano and black pepper for a few minutes and these were ready for eatin’

Delicious dinner to end such a crazy day!

And now I’m off, Real Housewives of D.C. (hello neighbors!) and my fave GTL crew have my attention tonight 😀

See you for Friday!

4 responses to “Ricotta + Tomato Heaven!

  1. Bah! I ended up doing work until 11 last night and missed Bethenny, Housewives and Jersey shore! I will majorly need to catch up today. Glad to hear everyone over there is ok despite the storm craziness. I love dishes that use ricotta- its such a great creamy addition to any meal yum!

  2. glad everyone got home safely! We had some rain yesterday, but it looked like the bad parts of the storm hit a few counties over from us – downed trees and everything.

    This dinner looks so good! Perfect for summer 🙂

  3. So glad everybody is okay!

    I totally missed both RHDC and Bethanny Getting Married last night. Good thing I dvr’d them! How was RHDC?

    • It was good – but I need to get into their characters a bit more (always takes a few episodes to get to know the crew ya know?) I loved seeing all the places just right up the street from my house too, exciting! Bethanny Getting Married I still need to catch, we watched Jersey Shore instead but I caught some during the commercials and I just love her! Looks like last night’s episode was a funny one!

Leave a Reply

