Bloggie Recipe Love!

After arriving home late yesterday afternoon from our day at the beach, The Man and I were totally in a pizza mood!

And I knew just what would hit the spot Smiley

I spotted this recipe on Jenna’s blog a few days ago and knew I was going to have to make it (or at least a version of it!) very very soon…

And since we had some leftover ricotta in the fridge from the Tomato, Ricotta & Italian Sausage Penne dinner – you know what’s comin’!

I made the zucchini version for myself and a zucchini-less version for The Man, replacing the green veggies with lots of onion (we LOVE onion) Smiley

Dough & Veggies

  • 1 package Trader Joe’s pre-made refrigerated dough
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 1 small zucchini, grated & squeezed dry w/ a paper towel
  • cooking spray

I usually make Jenna’s pizza dough recipe when preparing pizzas at home, but we were a bit strapped for time/energy in casa de Fanatic last night so TJ’s to the rescue it was!

Onion-Ricotta Topping

  • 3/4 container ricotta
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan
  • 3 cloves chopped garlic
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt
  • black pepper

To assemble the his & hers pizzas I split the dough in half (well kind of, you know who got a bit more!)

I spread them out into “circles” on a baking sheet sprayed w/ cooking spray and then spread a generous helping of the ricotta topping on top.

I then topped my pizza w/ the grated zucchini and some sliced onion.

His pizza got sliced onion & more grated Parm.

Then into a 350F oven to bake.  Although the pizza dough instructions called for 12-15 minutes, I ended up baking these somewhere between 25-30 because they were thicker & had the heavier ricotta topping.

Time for a new baking pan Steph…. Smiley

While they baked I chopped up a salad using baby romaine (ever had it? love it), cherry gold tomatoes, banana peppers, cucumber, onion & fresh basil.

And topped it with some raspberry vinaigrette.

After time was up, the pizzas came out of the hot oven and were a gorgeous golden brown!

Wow.  Jenna knows what’s up friends.  The zucchini pizza was nothing short of rock-your-face-off status!!!!  Such a fun twist on a normal pizza, love love loved it.

The Man gave his onion version two thumbs up as well!  (Ok ok ok you caught me, I tasted it too and gave it the same!)

Overall it was the perfect way to end such a fabulous weekend.

Well I hope everyone is enjoying their start to the week and see you back soon! Smiley

5 responses to “Bloggie Recipe Love!

  1. I really like the TJ’s pizza dough, but I need to get more adventurous and try making my own sometime. Jenna’s recipe for zucchini pizza sounds delish.

    Glad you had a great weekend!

    PS- I finally got to meet Keya at the watermelon festival. She’s a sweetie!

  2. Heck yes for Sunday night pizza! 🙂

    Jenna really does know what’s up when it comes to pizza. Or any food for that matter. I must try the ricotta and zucchini combo!

  3. grated zucchini on pizza? That is totally brilliant. Need to try!

  4. Pizza looks great! I remember seeing that on Jenna’s blog. Something I will have to try next time I have pizza ; )

  5. Simply gorgeous! Yum!

Leave a Reply

