Strata-fied!

Well in case ya’ll didn’t know by now, I’m a huge fan of the egg strata!

I’ve made them a couple times before and they always turn out so delicious.

Plus they’re such a healthy & economical way to get your boyfriend to eat lots of vegetables use up some items in your kitchen too —> win win! Smiley

Last night’s strata featured:

  • 1/2 loaf Italian bread, cubed
  • 4 cage-free eggs
  • 1/2 block raw cheddar, shredded
  • 2 peppers, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 summer squash, diced
  • 2 spoonfuls onion relish
  • 1 1/3 cups plain almond milk
  • Frank’s hot sauce
  • S&P
  • 1 tblsp olive oil

Like I said, a strata is a great way to use up some bread that may have been lying on your counter for 1 day too long!

Or try out raw cheddar for the first time, which I must say is quite delicious.

I picked up this sweet Vidalia onion relish at The Fresh Market the other week and thought it would be a fun addition to the strata too.  The perfect blend of mild onion flavor with both a sweetness and a tang!

I have also added dijon mustard before, which adds a great ‘zing’ as well.

That’s the beauty of a strata, anything goes!  Even tortillas!

Give the veggies a sauté in the olive oil until they just start to brown a bit, love the flavor that brings out.  Give them some S&P seasoning too, you know the drill Smiley

While the veggies are cooking away, get your bread and cheese prepped and ready as well as your egg mixture.

Just whisk the eggs w/ the (surprise!) almond milk and a few splashes of hot sauce.  S&P too of course!

I substitute almond milk for cow’s milk all the time in cooking these days.  Not because I don’t enjoy cow’s milk, but because we don’t usually have it on hand.  I must say that almond milk does the job too, works perfectly (if  not better) every time!

Once the veggies are done, mix in the onion relish and let cool for a few minutes (don’t want them to cook the egg mixture when putting together).

Then it’s time to start the strata assembly!

Cooking spray in baking dish followed by a thick layer of cubed bread.

Then the cooked veggie/onion relish mixture goes next.

Don’t forget your cheese!  Can’ you tell whose side is whose?

Bake at 400F for 30-40  minutes until the eggs are cooked and the bread begins to crisp.

And there you have it!

Don’t forget some yummy side dishes to go with your meal, such as this beautifully delicious heirloom tomato.

Which I may or may not have eaten just like an apple on our way back from the beach (omgggg it was goooooood)!

This time around I was a bit more civilized and made a tomato basil salad…

These farmer’s market heirlooms from one of my favorite vendors are some of the best I’ve ever had.

They may even beat out my beloved cherry gold tomatoes… it’s that serious. Smiley

Of course some okra fries wouldn’t hurt either… this lil’ habit of mine is getting out of control!

I could eat these suckers at every meal.

Oh yea!

This strata turned out to be one of the best yet we both agreed.  Yummmmmm yummmmmmm yummmmmmmm.

Follow up this dinner with some Bachelor Pad and chocolate and you’ve got yourself a kickin’ Monday night!

So who else indulged in The Bachelor Pad last night?!?!  Do tell do tell, did you like it?!?! Are you in love with Jesse B. too?!?! Smiley

*shhhh that’s our lil’ secret haha!*

8 responses to “Strata-fied!

  1. I loved Bachelor Pad… it’s such a trainwreck!

  2. I watched the last half and I was a little confused, but I’ll definitely probably watch it haha.

    That strata looks great!

  3. So fun. I have never made a strata…and I do have eggs and a loaf of bread to use up…hmmm 😉 I hope your week is going well.

  4. savoringsarah

    LURVEEEEEEEEEEEEE stratas!! I did NOT watch bachelor pad, I have too much to do these days and I have already wasted the majority of my weeknights getting caught up on junky reality shows, mwahahaha…!

    PS SOOOO so SOO wishing you were comin to chitown this weekend!

  5. You know I am all over the Bachelor Pad! I cannot wait for the drama to begin!

  6. I LOVE strata…and I have you to thank for introducing it to me!! Yours looks just delicious.

    I recorded the Bachelor Pad but haven’t gotten a chance to watch yet…please tell me it’s everything I hoped it would be?! (you know, drinking/drama/hot guys)?

  7. Pingback: Purple Potatoes! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

