Breaded & Baked Spicy Hoisin Tofu Sandwich!

After our usual round of Thursday night thunderstorms, I decided that tonight was going to be a tofu kinda night!  It had just been too long….

You see, The Man had a basketball game which meant I got to prep something fast and easy for him and then something that I know he wouldn’t love but that I was excited to try making for myself!

No complaints here 😉

And since I had some tofu in the fridge that I was just antsy to use, I just knew that tonight was the night!  And what followed was a total success (thankfully):

Baked & Breaded Spicy Hoisin Tofu Sandwich

After slicing the block of extra firm tofu in half I gave it a press between two heavy plates w/ some paper towels while I did some Power Vinyasa Flow and Straight to the Core (holy heck!)

Once that was dunzo I set the pressed tofu in a mixture of hoison sauce, fresh garlic & a splash of H2O to thin the sauce out.

I let that do it’s thing while I prepped The Man’s dinner, which was a 3-cheese & pepperoni grilled sammich that he really enjoyed… but I think my baked tofu sammich blew this guy outta the water, just sayin’ 😉

Sorry pepperoni, you ain’t got nothin’ on this tofu!

Once the tofu had marinated for a little while in the fridge, I decided to stir things up a bit and give the marinated tofu a roll in some seasoned bread crumb before baking…

Bread crumb, black pepper, dried oregano and red pepper flakes.

Then onto a baking pan w/ foil sprayed w/ cooking spray…

And into the oven for 55 minutes or so, first at 400F and then cranked up to 425F for the last 15 minutes or so.

Trust me, the long bake time is totally worth it… just pour yourself a glass of wine or two and wait it out. You’ll be glad you did! 😀

The finished product was this gorgeously browned slice of tofu heaven…

Which I served between some multigrain bread and topped with some farmer’s market pickles (Hobo’s pickles: a-m-a-z-i-n-g!) and voilà!

Oh tofu gods…. you have shined down on me tonight!

This was scrumptious!  It far exceeded my expectations and had the best flavor & texture (which is very important in the tofu department in my eyes) plus was so easy to make 🙂

To go with this tofu creation I decided on a fresh salad to use up the rest of our veggies before the upcoming weekend’s farmer’s market trip.

Check out the brilliant shade of tomato red from these beauties that Fanatic Mom brought me from her recent trip to the Spring Grove Farm Bed and Breakfast.  The owner gave them to her straight from her garden!

I mean WOW… summer, please don’t ever end?  Ever?

Some cucumber, tomato, onion, corn and a mix of herbs including mint, lemon basil and basil was how it all came together…

Finished with some salt & pepper plus balsamic vinegar.

I don’t know what prompted me to put the mint in this salad, but combined w/ the lemon basil flavor it had a very Mediterranean feel 😀  Of delish that is!

Great dinner.  Yummmmmmmmm.

Here are the final recipes:

Baked& Breaded Spicy Hoisin Tofu Sandwich

  • 1 package extra firm tofu, sliced in half
  • 1/8 cup Hoisin sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 tblsp water
  • 1/4 cup bread crumb
  • black pepper, dried oregano and red pepper flakes to taste
  • cooking spray
  • bread & pickles to serve

Summer Veggie Salad

  • 2 small cucumbers, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn, thawed
  • fresh mint, lemon basil, basil – torn
  • salt & pepper
  • balsamic vinegar

So there you have it!  A “her’s” dinner kinda night followed by some educational programs including Real Housewives of D.C. and Jersey Shore…. hooray for Thursdays!

The Man just got home so I better hide the remote control hahaha 😉

3 responses to “Breaded & Baked Spicy Hoisin Tofu Sandwich!

  1. Glad I’m not the only one who is going to waste brain cells at 10pm tonight! 🙂

  2. The funny thing is I was really wanting a sandwich tonight and wanting tofu at the same time. Just couldn’t think of anything. You answered my prayers my lady. 🙂 I’ll have to make this ASAP.

  3. Yum! I’ve never thought to bread tofu, but I bet it would be amazing! You’re a genius.

Leave a Reply

