Garlic Hoisin Roasted Chicken

So last weekend at the farmer’s market there was a new farmer in town — a chicken farmer, which definitely filled a void that had been quite evident at our market this summer (where’s the chicken?!?!)

This lady was as nice as could be and was so excited to tell me all about her natural, antibiotic/hormone/etc free chickens!

So you know I just had to pick one up 😛

Well not “one” technically, but a “half” chicken…

And since tonight was a night off from exercise, I had plenty of time to prepare a lovely roasted chicken dinner 😀

Here’s my twist:

**If you don’t like the sight of raw chicken, please scroll down to the middle of the post!**

Garlic Hoisin Roasted Chicken

  • 1/3 jar hoisin sauce
  • 1 tblsp soy sauce
  • 1 tblsp honey
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped into large chunks
  • black pepper
  • 1/2 chicken (2.5lbs)

First I rinsed off the chicken and patted dry.  Then I slipped the garlic pieces under the skin in various places to get the flavor going.  A sprinkle of black pepper and then the marinade (hoisin/soy/honey) was drizzled on.

I let the chicken marinate in the fridge for about a half hour while the oven preheated (375F) and I did some chores 😉

I then put the chicken in the oven and roasted for about 50-60 minutes (I covered it for about the last 10 minutes) until the outside got somewhat crisp and the meat was cooked through.

Oh the smells! 😛

To go with our roasted chicken I decided to give this a try:

I picked this Lundberg Tuscan Risotto up at Whole Foods a couple weeks back and have been wanting to give it a whirl…

To get some veggies in there I decided to add a red bell pepper & onion to the mix:

Which I sauteed in 1 tblsp olive oil (using the water trick) until tender, black pepper too (enough salt in the risotto mix!)

Cooked the risotto ‘kind of’ according to the directions, adding the peppers & onions plus some additional water towards the end and let it go about 10 minutes longer – stirring often.

And a last minute stir-in of grated Parm 😉

As a veggie side dish I added some sliced zucchini to the same pan that the onions & peppers had sauteed in (see all that flava on there!)

Once browned, I topped with some fresh roma tomatoes, covering to warm through.

Once everything it was ready it was time to plate-up! 🙂

Oh yes.  Such a comforting meal!

The chicken was so moist and had the most lovely garlic-infused flavor.  I will definitely be purchasing one of these again soon!

The risotto was a hit as well, for a packaged product this is a side dish that packs some nice flavor and can be easily “dressed-up” by adding veggies & cheese.

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmm 🙂

6 responses to “Garlic Hoisin Roasted Chicken

  1. We love that risotto! It is actually one of my husbands favorite side dishes. 🙂

  2. I’ve actually never had risotto before but after looking at your pictures, I definitely need to try this. I think I will pick it up the next time I go to Whole Foods. 🙂 Yum!

  3. When Mike went grocery shopping last week he picked me up that same brand of risotto! I’ve had it before and it is delicious. Mmm!

  4. lowandbhold

    Sounds great! I definitely love to know where my meat came from.

  5. Natural chicken? Fantastic! I buy organic at our food store, but would love to pick up local chicken! Great dinner. Hooray for risotto. I seriously suck at sending your package. I apologize…I’ve been run over. I PROMISE to get it to you soon. So sorry!

  6. I love getting all natural chicken. I don’t get it from a farmer’s market, but we do have a great selection at our grocer.

    Hoisin sauce adds so much flavor. What a great recipe.

Leave a Reply

