Purple Potatoes!

Wow friends, do I have a treat for you tonight!!!

This simple dinner turned out to be one of the most delicious and flavorful ones that I’ve had in a while… and I can’t wait to share 🙂

On the menu tonight:

  • Farmer’s market grass-fed burgers w/ onion relish
  • Roasted garlic purple potatoes!
  • Okra “fries”

Okay before we get to the crazy colorful purple taters, let’s go over the burger recipe:

  • 1 lb. grass-fed ground beef
  • 3 tblsp onion relish (you’ve seen this before!)
  • generous tblsp worcestershire
  • generous tblsp Frank’s hot sauce
  • black pepper
  • dash sea salt

Combine the ingredients and form into patties, I made 5.

Cook stove top (rainy night = no grill action!) until done.

Nope, not there yet….

That’s more like it 😉

Now onto the purple potatoes!

I picked these up from my favorite farmer at the market last weekend and couldn’t wait to try them!

Many of us are familiar with the antioxidant benefits of blueberries… well these potatoes pack that same kind of antioxidant punch! 😀

Not to mention being absolutely gaw-geous!

** gosh if only I had a super-sweet camera you could really see how gorgeous these were! **

I simple thick slice and a stir with the following:

  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • black pepper
  • sea salt

And onto a  pan and into a the oven they go.  I was cooking okra fries at the same time so here’s how long/what temps I did the taters:  350F for 20 minutes, crank up to 375F for 15 minutes then up to 400F (when the okra fries went in) for the last 20 minutes.

If I wasn’t doing the okra “fries” at the same time I would have just roasted at 375F for 40-50 minutes…

You want them to get a nice browned color, mmmm!

So now it’s time to serve it all up…

Such a colorful dinner!  🙂

But seriously, even more than colorful… absolutely super delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Check out how the purple potatoes got this gorgeous “crust” and were soft/tender on the inside!

Like a warm semi-soft potato chip with a sweet garlic flavor… holy wow these were amazinggggggggggggg!

I know what I’ll be buying again next weekend at the market….!

The burgers and okra fries weren’t too shabby themselves either 😉

Coupled with the shrimp BLT I had for lunch at Delux today, this was a superior day of eats I must say.

And to top it all off, tomorrow is Thursday which means we are that much closer to the weekend 🙂

I’ll take it – have a great night everyone!

15 responses to “Purple Potatoes!

  1. Fabulous! I picked up some local purple potatoes earlier this year and totally loved them. The whole meal looks perfect. I had never really given okra a good try until last night at one of Josh’s work dinners- they made me Okra fries…SO good!

  2. cookeatburn

    I love how you always have such delicious looking dinners, dear. This time those purple potatoes (the caramelized crust, ah!) and okra fries are really calling my name :).

  3. yum!!! are they fingerling potatoes? i need to find some!

    • I think they are Peruvian purple potatoes? I’ve only seen them at the farmer’s market but maybe an organic store like Whole Foods would have them too! Hope you find some, they are delicious 🙂

  4. Purple Potatoes! I have never seen them before!! I definitely need to find some of those around here! 🙂

  5. Oh my word! I love how you have introduced me to SO many news fruits and veggies! I will definitely look out for those. They look purty, too. 🙂

  6. livelaughloveandrun

    Mmm.. I’ll have to go look for purple potatoes at our farmers market! I’m all about a sweet potato, but you made the purple ones seem amazing!!

  7. Wow. Those purple potatoes are gorgeous! Were they more similar to a white potato or a sweet potato?

    • They were definitely not as dry/starchy as a white potato… but not as mushy (?) as a sweet potato inside… maybe it was the way I prepared them but they were unlike any other roasted potato I’ve had! I’m in love with them 🙂

  8. I LOVE purple potatoes. If I ever have kids I will cook them all the time. How fun would that be?

  9. We have been eating a lot of these little purple potatoes lately, I guess they are in season and just love them. Mix them up with red and white potatoes to add a real beauty of color. Thanks for the burger recipe to go along, sorry it rained on you.

  10. I LOVE purple potatoes!!!!! MMMM!

    And I ALWAYS love your burger concotions.

    Wait, more things I love: your plates & FRIDAY!

  11. Pingback: Leftover Transformation « CookinFanatic

  12. Pingback: How to make a good vegetable pasta | pure2raw

Leave a Reply

