Mexican Hot Flower Soup

HAPPY FRIDAY!!

And boy do I have a smashing recipe for ya’ll this Friday! Smiley

Thanks to one of my new favorite blogs, last night’s dinner was one of the most flavorful and delicious soup dinners that I’ve had in quite some time.

Caldo Xochitl (Mexican Hot Flower Soup)

This past Sunday I got all productive in the kitchen and whipped up some homemade chicken stock while doing some chores around the house.

All it took was some chicken bones from a previously roasted chicken that I had stashed in the freezer, onion, celery, fresh herbs (I used thyme & Italian parsley), salt, pepper and water!

Let the mixture simmer over medium-low for an hour, or two.  Whatever you have time for.  Not only will your house smell like pure love, but you’ll have some delicious homemade chicken stock to stash in the freezer and use up later!  Ice cube trays work great for making storage & use easy peasy too.

Roughly based on this recipe, here were my soup ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 stalk celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tomato, seeded & chopped
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 spicy pepper (I used a poblano), chopped
  • 1 large chicken breast
  • chicken stock, enough to fill 1/2 the pot (approx. 4-6 cups?)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 tblsp olive oil

To get started I gave the onion, celery and garlic a chop.

Then added the onion & celery to the hot pan with some olive oil, cooking until tender (about 5 minutes), adding in the garlic towards the end.  Don’t forget to season w/ salt & pepper too!

To this mixture I added my chicken stock (plus a bit of water to make sure I had enough liquid) and brought to a boil.  Then in went the chicken breast to cook until done.

At this point I removed the chicken breast and gave it a shred using the 2-fork method (works like a charm).  Chopped up the tomato & poblano and got the lime ready for squeezin’.

Back into the pot went the shredded chicken along with the tomato, poblano and lime juice.  I also tasted and adjusted the seasonings to taste.

At this point I turned down the heat to medium-low and just let the soup simmer away until we were ready to eat!  Giving it a few minutes to bring all the flavors together is always a good idea Smiley

All served up with some Frank’s hot sauce for an extra kick!  If we had cilantro around I would’ve loved to have that too, but alas, our herb garden is without.

The Man melted a slab of cheese over his… shocking, I know haha Smiley

As I side dish I gathered up these beauties:

And sauteed them with an onion in some olive oil, topping with hot pepper cheese to finish.

Yummmmm!

But okay, really, back to the soup.

I adored this recipe!!  The kick of lime with each bite along with the freshness of the vegetable flavors really brought it to a whole ‘notha level.  And using the homemade chicken stock was just flat out ridiculoussssly good.

This soup really is an example of how fresh, simple flavors used at their best will come together to make just a phenomenal dish.

The Man and I both agreed that this soup is a keeper! as we were slurping every last drop out of our bowls hahaha

So seriously friends, what are you waiting for?  Make this soup!  You won’t be sorry you did…

And if you don’t already, you should totally try making your own stock at home too.  I promise that the flavors will be leaps and bounds above that canned version… and if you don’t believe me, check out this chef’s article on what separates a professional cooks food from a home cook —> including how using water from your tap will make food taste better than any canned/boxed version of the stuff!

Now when can I move to Mexico for culinary school…. seriously. Smiley

7 responses to “Mexican Hot Flower Soup

  1. Now this is what I call homemade! Right down to the stock! Great job. Mexican is so so good!

  2. The soup sounds great! I am a huge fan of Mexican food. I could eat Mexican everyday and not ever get sick of it. In fact, I am having a little Mexican Fiesta with some friends tonight. I am so excited for Mexican Food! 🙂

  3. savoringsarah

    Wow, with a name like Mexican Hot Flower soup, I wasn’t expecting to see such a simple ingredient list! It looks beautiful, and I can only imagine how delicious it was…homemade soups are the BEST! Props to you makin your own stock…I need to keep whole chickens in the house more often! Err, or at elast clean out the freezer more than once a year..mmhmmm! TGIF xo

  4. Awesome. I had no idea that there was canned stock until I started watching Top Chef and saw them using it on there. My Mom always made her own stock, so naturally I’ve always done the same. It really does make a huge difference.

  5. ohh i love mexican and healthy! my hubs would even eat this

  6. Pingback: Crashhhhhh « CookinFanatic

  7. Pingback: Southwestern Pork Soup « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

