S’ghetti Sunday

Welcome back everyone!

Or welcome back CookinFanatic I should say ๐Ÿ˜‰

We had a busy fun-filled holiday weekend and not much time was spent computer-side…

We were obviously reading quality material instead ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  Yea, don’t ask!

If you checked out my previous post, I’m sure you noticed the mountain terrain…

Well, we spent all day Saturday at Wintergreen resortย – which is actually a ski lodge during the winter but has lots of great events to offer during the summer.

Including wine festivals!ย  And you know I was all over that ๐Ÿ˜‰

How cute is this little condo?!

It was a great time followed by an all day pool party at The Man’s parents’ house yesterday… phew!ย  And today has been spent on the relaxation front, sometimes you gotta “recover” fromย a relaxing weekend – am I right or am I right?!

So tonight’s dinner definitely called for something comfortingย & easy – and I had just the recipe in mind.ย 

Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

My mom made this type of s’ghetti often when I was growing up, so it’s definitely a meal that reminds me of home ๐Ÿ™‚

This past weekend I picked up some local grass-fed ground beef.ย  This beef is top notch!

Plus some simple strained tomatoes – in a glass jar!ย  Bye bye canned ‘maters, sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I got out the key ingredients to any good sauce and gave them a choppin’

Garlic, onion & basil.ย  โค

Some other key players included olive oil, black pepper, sea salt & dried oregano.

This sauce couldn’t be easier!

First saute the onion in 1 tblsp olive oil for about 5 minutes.ย  Then add the ground beef and cook until done, adding the chopped garlic at the very end.ย  I also seasoned the meat mixture with the S&P and oregano.

Then transfer to a pot and add the tomato sauce & fresh basil.ย  Turn to a med-low simmer and cover, letting the flavors get happy for about 45 minutes or so.

Serve atop some whole wheat angel hair pasta and dinner is served!ย  Add some cheese to top if ya want too, I just wasn’t feeling it tonight ๐Ÿ˜‰

Okay, well not quite yet —> don’t forget a side salad!

And now, with a full belly, it’s time to get back to reality and work tomorrow… but not without some Bachelor Pad first ๐Ÿ˜›

What was your favorite part about this holiday weekend?!ย  Travels? Parties? Friends?

4 responses to “S’ghetti Sunday

  1. Mmmmmm, your spaghetti and meat sauce sounds wonderful!! Glad yall had a great weekend away!! ๐Ÿ™‚ We stayed home this holiday weekend, but ate lots of yummy food! My favorite part of this weekend was probably the cookout at my mom’s house yesterday. I was surrounded by all my favorite people eating lots of yummy food!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. How fun! The condo looks adorable! My mom’s spaghetti was one of my favorite meals growing up. Glad you had such a fun weekend! We did too!

  3. lowandbhold

    I think I would really like a ski resort in the summer! I am not a fan of skiing, but that looks super pretty! And you s’ghetti looks delicious!

    My favorite part of the weekend was probably going back to my hometown Friday night, I rarely go home and it was great to see everyone.

    Have a great day girl!

  4. Fanatic Mom

    I remember lots of s’ghetti Sundays around here. They still happen from time to time!

Leave a Reply

