The Chicken & The Egg

Yesterday was quite the day of fun & new eats in our house — to go along with mucho football, Jersey Shore and True Blood tv watching of course and maybe some beer drankin’ ! 😛

So let’s just get right to it, shall we?

DELICIOUS SUNDAY FUNDAY EATS #1:

Chicken & Egg Burrito

Remember the Mexican chicken dish  I prepared for Saturday night’s dinner? 

Well I put the leftovers to good use by making a creation inspired by a trip to Oaxaca on a recently viewed episode of Gourmet’s Diary of a Foodie

You read that right -> chicken and eggs.  Yep, a perfect combo!

Don’t knock it til you try it, this was so good that I ate it for both lunch and dinner 😉

I’m not kidding.

1 farm fresh egg, scrambled, then combined with the leftover chicken, peppers, potatoes, onions, tomatoes until warmed through.

A sprinkling of cheddar cheese and hot sauce and into a tortilla she goes!

So good.  So so good.  2 times, 1 day.  ‘Nuff said.

I had some homemade baked tortilla chips (flour tortillas, cooking spray, sea salt, chili powder – 400F 7 minutes) with one of my favorite grocery store salsas to go alongside 🙂

Sometimes I wonder if I’m truly Polish…. 😉

DELICIOUS SUNDAY FUNDAY EATS #2

Buffalo Chicken Wings

After purchasing some fresh chicken wings from Nature’s Choice Farms this past weekend, I was excited to make them for football Sunday!

If you haven’t read about this pastured chicken then check it out —->  here!

The Man indicated that he “needed them breaded and fried, just like they do at Hooter’s”…

I don’t ask questions anymore haha…

So there began my first adventure with frying – in a lot of oil.  Woah Smiley

Egg & bread crumb (salt & pepper) coating for the wings.  Into about 1.5” hot vegetable oil, flipping until brown crispy and cooked through.  Then rolled around in Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Wing Sauce and here you have it!

The Man was covered in wing sauce (haha I didn’t tell you that), mmmm’ing and yummmm’ing the whole way through these wings.  I think they got the stamp of approval 😉

Plus they’ve already been requested for next week… what have I gotten myself into?

DELICIOUS SUNDAY FUNDAY EATS #3

Coconut Curry Sweet Potato Soup

One of the farmer’s at the market hooked me up with this massive sweet potato… I mean seriously?!

Which I knew would be large enough for a delicious batch of soup that I could bring for lunches during the work week! 

Simply peeled, chopped and boiled along with 1 chopped onion for about 30 minutes or until tender.

After draining I added these guys:

1 tblsp Tropical Traditions coconut cream concentrate (loving this stuff right now!), 1-2 tsp curry powder, sea salt & pepper to taste.

I covered this mixture and let the flavors meld while it cooled down for about 30 minutes.

Then into the blender the veggies went!  Wait until they cool though, seriously, or else you’ll be scrubbing your walls & floors for days haha 😉

A cup of vanilla almond milk and about 2.5 cups of water helped to reach soup consistency.

Sure doesn’t win any pretty-soup-of-the-year awards, but holy yummmm-O – the taste was on point!  Lunches this week are going to be deeee-lish 😀

… And now here we are at today, with the lingering memories of Sunday being all that remain (well plus some pretty awesome leftovers) – welcome back Monday!!

I’m off to eat another chicken & egg burrito, gotta finish up the last of the Mexican chicken dish… what can I say, when I like something I really like it?! 😛

3 responses to “The Chicken & The Egg

  1. Okay… I need to try making wings. I’ve always been a wee bit too scared to try making them myself, but you make it sound so easy!

    Happy Monday lady. 🙂

  2. Hooray for foooootball and all the glorious eats that go along with. I totally get hooked on certain foods and could eat them three times a day 😉 Homemade tortilla chips rock and I want that soup! I thin its beautius

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever tried the eggs/chicken combo! But now you know I’m going to have to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

