Southwestern Pork Soup

Last night I decided to give this recipe a whirl…… 

Of course I didn’t have every ingredient it called for on hand so I had to make do with what I had, but it still turned out great! 🙂

First the veggies:  onion, green pepper, garlic & jalapeno. 

It doesn’t get much better than that!

A simple sauté in 1 tblsp olive oil until tender – about 5 minutes over medium to medium-high heat.  Seasoned with salt & pepper too. 

Then in goes the pork.  I used 3 small boneless pork chops instead of the tenderloin because it’s what I had in the freezer – no problemo!

Once the pork is close to done, add in your pink beans, chicken stock, tomatoes and spices.

And yes, those are ice cubes you see 😉

Remember a few weekends ago when I made some homemade chicken stock

I find that freezing it in an ice cube tray makes for the easiest use later on, all you have to do is grab however many ice cubes you need and voila!

The beans were Goya dry pink beans

Which I used the quick soak method and then cooked up on Sunday night while we were watching tv.  Weekend prep really makes  work week meals easier! 😀

I didn’t measure the spices, but I think it’s pretty safe to say that I used a bit more than the recipe called for – adjusted until it tasted just right.

I covered the pot and let “stew” for an hour or so over med-low heat until the flavors had the chance to combine. 

Served with some crusty bread and hot sauce to top, this recipe was a winner!  The soup had a somewhat chili-like flavor and the chunks of warm beans and pork were so tasty.

To go along with our soup I baked up the first fall squash of the season 😛

Split in half, seeds scooped out then into a 375F oven for about 40 minutes until tender.

Topped with cinnamon and brown sugar during the last few of course….

 

A vegetable that tastes like dessert?  Okay then!

Heaven.

I also added some butter to The Man’s , he devoured it… bet he never thought he’d like acorn squash 😉

What fall vegetable are you most looking forward to eating?!?!

Hope ya’ll are having a great Tuesday 😀

6 responses to “Southwestern Pork Soup

  1. That meal is something I would totally love! Especially with the crusty bread.

  2. YUM! I love all these simple yet unique dishes youve been doing lately! I have felt SO uninterested/overwhelmed with cooking lately. BLAH! This looks great 🙂

  3. Squash with a little brown sugar is one of my favorite things in the fall. Totally acceptable as a dessert. 🙂

  4. FABULOUS! Spicy soups rock. And you know I love the looks of your squash! I was most excited to get back to eating both acorn and spaghetti squash. I’ve had my first of each already and can’t wait for many many more. I think Josh thought he’d never like squash either

  5. cookeatburn

    Mmm… I’m already looking at loving acorn squash – I love stuffing it with different sweet and savory combos!

  6. Pingback: I have a poblano problem… « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

