Poblanos poblanos everywhereeeeeeeee!

Poblanos poblanos everywhereeeeeeeee!

Yep friends, it’s poblano time again.

I just can’t seem to get enough of these mildly spicy sensations 😛

Guess I’m really celebrating Mexico’s bicentennial this week?!

However, instead of roasting & stuffing  them per usual, I decided to go a different route in last night’s preparation.

And thanks to the trusty Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, I knew just how to do it!

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Simply remove seeds & veins and slice poblanos into strips.

P.S. I put plastic bags on my hands so things don’t get ugly later, hello eyes/contacts, ouch! Plastic gloves would work too, note to self.

Add to boiling water for about 10 minutes until the peppers soften a bit.

Layer peppers in a baking dish, which I coated with a thin layer of butter to prevent stickage.

Then goes on the cheese, I used mozzarella and Pecorino Romano.  Random, this I know, but it’s all we had in the fridge 😛

Last is the egg mixture, which is poured on top and binds the whole dish together.

Into a 450F oven for about 15 minutes until the egg mixture is set and voila!

Yummm yummm in my tummm 😀

To go alongside this dish I diced up some fresh tomatoes, spicy pepperjack cheese & pepperoni, adding some salt/pepper and balsamic vinaigrette to finish.

Mexican caprese salad of sorts?  Who knows… but it was good!

Chili Rellenos Casserole, adapted from BHG

  • 3 poblano peppers, seeds & veins removed
  • 1 cup shredded cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • ¼ cup almond milk
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Butter

 Remove seeds & veins from poblanos, slicing into thick strips.  Boil in enough water to cover for about 10 minutes, or until softened.

In the meantime, whisk together the eggs, flour, almond milk, baking powder, salt & pepper.

Once peppers are ready, layer them into a lightly buttered baking dish and top with cheese.  Pour the egg mixture over top and put in a 450F oven for about 15 minutes until egg is set.

Fast. Easy. Deelish.

Happy Wednesday! 🙂

5 responses to “Poblanos poblanos everywhereeeeeeeee!

  1. I LOVE that cookbook and how freaking good does that Chili Rellenos Casserole look? Toasty cheese? Yes please

  2. Ohh lady, this looks like a winner! Peppers and melty, gooey, toasted cheese? Where do I sign up? Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  3. That cheese makes me want to jump right through the screen! you are definitely the casserole queen. And they seriously all come out delicious (looking, and I’m sure tasting)!

  4. I’ve never even cooked a poblano. I feel like I’m missing out!

  5. Thanks for the post. I am always looking for ways to improve my gardening and cooking skills. My family loves eating real food.

Leave a Reply

