The College Dream

We’re backkkkkkkkkkkkkk!

Back from reliving the college dream (nothing makes me feel older 😉 ) visiting Mini-Fanatic at Virginia Tech this weekend!

We woke up bright and early (ah hmmm 6:30am) yesterday morning and packed up so we could get there in time for the VA Tech vs. ECU match up.

Not before a quick stop off at the farmer’s market on the way out though – of course – only me?

But I couldn’t resist picking up some of this lovely burgundy okra that I’ve been dying to try!

Aren’t they purty?

We made it up to VTech just in time for kick off on what turned out to be a gorgeous day.   Our seats were killer too.  Too bad the ending didn’t quite go as planned for The Man (he went to ECU)… but we cheered hard anyway (sorry sis!) 😛

After the game we got ourselves together for what turned out to be a stellar dinner at a restaurant in downtown Blacksburg called Boudreaux’s – Cajun food hello!

Their beer & wine list was extensive, so of course you know we had to start off with some of that 😉

Plus the Stuffed Jalapenos, priorities people.

Jalapeno peppers oozing with cheddar cheese and batter fried – served with Cajun mayeaux

For my meal I just couldn’t resist trying their seafood gumbo, I love this stuff!

Shrimp, crawfish, bell pepper, onion, okra (!!) and celery over long grain rice

Check out all the yummy seafood this had to offer – it was seriously THAT good!

This half salad / half soup combo came with a this gorgeous plate as well!

Fresh mixed lettuce leaves, grape tomatoes, carrots, onions, asiago cheese & homemade croutons.

The portions were ridiculous!  This salad was really great, it had the spiciest croutons which I really enjoyed!

The Man ordered this crabcake croissant with a side of their potato salad

Large chunk crab cake grilled and topped with romaine, tomato and red onion and remoulade sauce

He raved about both the sandwich & the tater salad – which the waitress recommended topping with a selection from their hot sauce collection!  Love love love 🙂

The food here was fabulous and far surpassed our expectations – especially considering this was a last minute decision!

After dinner was got changed and headed out for the night to one of lil’ sister’s favorite spots

Where we sat outside and enjoyed a few drinks until calling it a night 😀

Overall it was a great overnight getaway!  Long drive, so we’re a bit tiredddd today, but other than that we had a blasty!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some burgundy okra fries to finish up 😉

9 responses to “The College Dream

  1. What a fun little weekend. 🙂 I tried to bring back the good old college years last night with the girlfriends… eh. I don’t have it like I used to!

  2. Umm, hello battered fried cheese stuffed peppers…where have you been all my life?!?!!
    (PS- Mayeux?? La-la, TRES chic!)

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend ms thang 🙂

  3. I have never seen burgundy okra! How gorgeous! Can’t wait to see it all cooked up. Glad y’all had fun. The weather this weekend has been incredible. We haven’t been back to our college in a while…the last time we went I totally felt old though haha

  4. Sounds like a fun time! I love college football. Although I feel ya on it being weird going back sometimes.

  5. Once upon a time, my mom told me that “I don’t like okra.” And, since I listen to my mom, I’ve never actually given it a chance. But, it still looks interesting!

  6. Fanatic Mom

    Glad I got to go Friday and wished we could have stayed Saturday. Your dinners look delish!

  7. Burgundy Okra? Never seen that before!

  8. dang – every time YOU’RE in Bburg, I’m out of town! 🙂

    We’ll have to actually meet up sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

