Starred in the Google Reader

This little gem has been starred in my google reader for a few weeks now and after a weekend spent away from home livin’ the college dream, nothing sounded better than an easy yet extremely flavorful dinner last night!

P.S. Glad to know I’m not the only one who feels relatively old during post-grad college visits either! 😉

Jenna’s Linguine w/ Shrimp & Tomato Cream Sauce

I followed Jenna’s recipe for the most part, making a few changes as follows:

  • 2 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, chopped small
  • 1 box Pomi crushed tomatoes (26 oz.)
  • 7 oz. frozen shrimp, precooked for ease
  • 2 tblsp heavy cream (which I had previously frozen!)
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • water as needed
  • fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/2 package fettucine

My love for Pomi tomatoes goes on and on… 😉

I simply sautéed the onions in olive oil until they turned translucent, about 5 minutes, then added in the garlic for another minute or 2.  Then in went the tomatoes, half the basil, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to taste.  I let this simmer over medium heat until the flavors combined, about 10 minutes.

While this was going down I boiled up the pasta according to directions, easy peasy.

Then it was time to add the shrimp, which just needed to be warmed through since they were previously cooked.  I added some additional water to get the sauce to the consistency we prefer as well.

Last in the pan went the remainder of the basil plus the heavy cream , which I had actually previously frozen leftovers of in ice cube trays for later use (best used in cooked dishes).  Not many of us use a whole container of heavy cream for 1 recipe nor use it up before it goes bad, at least in my experience, so freezing it is a great option!

Serve the shrimp sauce over the pasta with a fresh slice of buttered bread…

And a gorgeous salad of yellow tomato, fresh basil, balsamic vinegar, sea salt & black pepper…

And you will have some happy happy diners 🙂

At least we did in our house!

This recipe will easily become an impressive go-to dinner in our house, it was fantastic.

And now?  After an intense Yoga w/ Weights session I am looking forward to some quality Monday night TV…

How I Met Your Mother, Rules of Engagement, Gossip Girl AND Thintervention all in one night???  Don’t mind if I do (hey, I never said it was “educational TV”) 😛

What is one of your favorite easy-yet-flavorful go-to recipes?!

4 responses to “Starred in the Google Reader

  1. How good is pasta after a long trip? This looks amazing. Especially with that side salad 😉 ow- I almost forgot about thintervention!!! Thanks for the reminder. Beans and rice is a big go to me- with extra sauteed veggies

  2. Starred for good reason! That looks divine, especially for a Monday evening. 🙂

    What is Thintervention, I’ve never heard of it!

  3. lowandbhold

    Ohmygosh I am in TV heaven this week! It may kill me, haha!

    The pasta looks GOOOOD!

  4. I love simple and flavorful recipes like that.

Leave a Reply

