I have a poblano problem…

I. Just. Can’t. Stop.

Seriously?  What is my fascination with these spicy yet still somewhat mild peppers?  With that gorgeous flavor that develops when roasted, slightly charred and tender? 

I don’t know what it is… but I don’t ever want it to end 😛

So tonight was not only round 2 of the tuna stuffed poblano dish I’m so in love with, but also a first homemade Mexican rice adventure in the Fanatic kitchen!

“The Veg”

Mexican Rice

  • 1 cup Lundberg brown basmati rice
  • 1 cup chicken stock + 1 cup water
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, choppped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small can Herdez salsa casera
  • 1/2 tomato, chopped
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • about 1 tsp cumin
  • about 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tblsp olive oil

First up was the rice, which I cooked in a mixture of homemade chicken stock (frozen in ice cube trays – makin’ life easier for the Fanatic one ice cube at a time 😉 ) and water per the directions.

Then I got the veggies!  Into the pan went the olive oil + onion + green pepper, seasoned with salt and pepper and then cooked up until tender.

I added in the garlic + half a tomato towards the end (since I had it leftover from the tuna dish)…

Who says Christmas can’t come in September? 😉

After the rice was done cooking, I combined the veggies + rice + salsa + cumin + oregano and let everything warm through. 

For her:  served up on one of the new pumpkin plates Fanatic Mom surprised me with today (how cute are these?!)

For him:  served up with a topping of melted monterey jack cheese!

Plus some extra hot sauce for good measure – yea yea yea 😛

So. Good. 

Take that boxed Mexican rice!

The tuna stuffed poblanos were even better the second time around, I can’t believe that I actually like this stuff now?!  Who am I?!

I used a mixture of beautiful yellow + red tomatoes with the usual onion, olive oil, white vinegar, salt, pepper and oregano.

Added in the tuna and stuffed into the roasted poblano goodness. 

Love at first sight bite?

Yes.  Double yes.

This meal was just perfect…

And now?  Time to hunt down some dessert, this meal was just too good not to be finished off with something sweet (at least that’s what I think anyways 😉 )!

Have a great night everyone!

5 responses to “I have a poblano problem…

  1. Come on… EVERY meal needs something sweet to wrap it up. 😉

    Those pumpkin plates are adorable! I need to go fall decoration shopping, stat!

  2. Girl, that sounds INCREDIBLE!

  3. If its not broke…. I am a big fan of finding a food I love and eating it over and over again 🙂 Your stuff poblanos look totally fabulous

  4. I love Mexican food! The rice looks so delicious! Mm!

  5. I am the same way with certain foods…if I like it, I will have it a million times before I finally give it up for awhile! 🙂

    That pumpkin plate is SO cute! I love anything and everything pumpkin related (including food).

Leave a Reply

