Return of the Roasted Beet!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

I must tell ya’ll that today has been one of the most exciting days of my life, and I can’t wait to share all the details with you friends as soon as possible!!!!! 😀

And just to clear this one up: (1) no, I am not engaged and (2) no, I am not pregnant 😉

And since the temps rose to a “comfortable” 94 degrees today, this first day of fall (??), we thought why not prolong the summer and grill out tonight to celebrate?

Alrightttt!

Barbecue Chicken – always a classic.

To go alongside our grilled chicken I had my eye on some sort of roasted beet dish, which my mouth hasn’t seen since last winter!

But not just any ol’ roasted beet dish, this one was going to be something different…

Roasted Beets w/ Yogurt-Garlic-Mint Sauce

After washing my farmer’s market beets & removing their stems, I placed them (wrapped in foil) into a 400F oven for 45 minutes to roast.

Then I gathered up the ingredients for the sauce!

  • 1 container plain Chobani yogurt
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • fresh mint (about 20 leaves)
  • sea salt (about 1 tsp)
  • black pepper (about 1 tsp)
  • 1 tsp olive oil

This sauce was easy peasy!  Just give the garlic a quick mince then smash up using some sea salt to release all the wonderful flavors.

Before:

After:

Juicy 😉

This definitely released some “garlic fury” but oh wow was the taste superb!  As long as you like garlic that is 😛 

If lotsa garlic and repelling vampires isn’t your thang, then lay off the garlic a bit and go with perhaps 1 clove or half a clove!

Then combine the yogurt, garlic, sea salt, black pepper, olive oil and chopped mint – give it a stir.

The thick Chobani Greek yogurt makes a wonderful creamy sauce!

Once the beets finish roasting, open up the foil and let those suckers cool a bit before easily scraping off the skin with a knife and slicing thickly.

Top with your yogurt garlic mint sauce and prepare to transport yourself to food heaven.  I’m not even kidding.

First reaction:  eyes crossed because it was so outta control good.

Second reaction:  repetivitively stating how outta control good this was.

Third reaction:  eating the entire bowl.

Go make this.  Go make it now.  By far one of my favorite vegetable dishes ever.  The strong tang of the garlic with the cool mint balanced out with the creamy yogurt was just a playground for the tastebuds… who knew a beet could be so good?!

“Rounded out” with some organic mac n’ cheese this meal was so good that The Man and I were literally in silence eating / enjoying every single bite.

Well, almost in silence… if only I could shut up about those beets haha 😉

Yum.

Do you like beets?  If so, what’s your favorite way to prepare them?

12 responses to “Return of the Roasted Beet!

  1. I do love beets! I like them roasted as chips in the oven. Its definitely summer in Charleston too 🙂 I loveeee it. oww…..you know what we’re all assuming now, right?

  2. I’ve never had beets before but after reading your descriptions of how good they are, I might just need to try them! 🙂

    • i hope you do! when fresh & roasted they taste nothing like their canned counterparts and are so good! i can even get my boyfriend to eat them without a ton of cheese (his usual vegetable requirement haha) 😉

  3. Ah…I can’t wait to hear the news! 🙂

    I’ve NEVER tried beets – I know!

  4. I LOOOVE beets! I adore them with goat cheese or feta, but can eat them however. Mmmm.

    Can’t wait to hear the news!

  5. Yes! Im making roasted beets this week and I can not wait!

  6. I make a roasted beet salad with goat cheese and a citrus dressing that is amazing. Here’s the recipe:
    http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=286826078058

  7. Eeek! I can’t wait to hear the good news – whatever it is, you deserve it! Hands DOWN. 🙂

    I’ve only had my grandma’s pickeled beets, and only recently…..LOVED THEM!

  8. That sounds wonderful! I canned some beets this year and have yet to use any!

  9. I’m with you roasted beets are great, and much better than canned. Here are two recipes the first using the beet and beet greens.

    http://eatingvideogames.blogspot.com/2010/06/short-ribs-with-celeriac-and-beets.html

    The second beets as ice-cream flavor (a bit strange)

    http://eatingvideogames.blogspot.com/2010/09/beet-ice-cream.html

  10. Sweet and Fit

    looooove beets – just bookmarked it =)

Leave a Reply

