Not-So-Chorizo Soft Tacos

How is everyone’s weekend going?!  Good I hope 😀

I’m so glad ya’ll like the peanut butter banana chocolate cake-cookie recipe too – mmmmm yummmm!

Well after a quick stop yesterday afternoon at ¿Qué Pasa?, a local Latino Festival, we spent the evening like this in la casa de Fanatic 😉

She so has a career in show-bizzzz, don’t ya think?  LOL.

P.S.  Tasted some Goya Coconut Soda as well as lime icecream there which were more than refreshing on a 98F September afternoon!

For dinner, I whipped up a Mexican inspired recipe that was an idea of one of my best friends Kristine – who I always trust when it comes to cooking, she can make some great food ya’ll! 

And seriously, I would have never thought to make this but I’m so glad I finally tried it! 🙂

Not-So-Chorizo Soft Tacos

We had to make a quick stop off for the ingredients, and since ‘you-know-who’ isn’t the most patient with grocery shopping we just had to stick with this Aidells Cajun Style Andouille in place of chorizo since a stop at another store just wasn’t in the cards…

Hence the “not-so-chorizo” title 😛

I was cool with it though since these bad boys are made from pork raised without hormones, plus tasted great.

I simply sliced and browned them stovetop until warmed though, skins removed.  While they were cooking I chopped up all the veggies.

Served taco-bar style with soft flour tortillas, lettuce, tomatoes, onion, jalapeno, salsa, shredded cheddar and hot sauce of course 😛

These were such a different take on the soft taco and both The Man and I loved them!

Mine.  All mine.

His. 

The Cajun andouille was a great spicy stand-in, but next time I’m going to be on the hunt for some authentic chorizo to make these bad boys!

As a side dish I cooked up some of the fresh farmer’s market green beans I had gotten earlier in the day.

Steamed in a saucepan (covered) using chicken broth with some onion, jalapeno and tomatoes (add at the last minute) plus salt & pepper, this was a lovely side dish!

Not one to dive into the first bowl of green beans I see (I’ll admit they aren’t my #1) – this batch o’ beans I got at the market was top notch and I actually ate them for both lunch and dinner yesterday?!  Who am I?!

Topped off with a glorious 9 hours of sleep and awoken by raindrops on the window (we haven’t had rain in weeks) it was definitely a most relaxing weekend 🙂

Hope ya’ll had a good one too!

5 responses to “Not-So-Chorizo Soft Tacos

  1. Holy yum!!!! Seriously nothing better than fresh authentic chorizo, but I bet the andouille was tasty too!

    Please send some warm weather up north, its a balmy 48 out right now. YUCK

  2. cookeatburn

    Wow, you didn’t even use the chorizo and I’ve still got a craving for it now – preferably in migas! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the shoutout. Now, do it correctly next time. Sheesh.
    Kidding!

  4. Yum, I love the idea of a taco bar at home!

    98 degrees?! Dang! It is like 50 here right now 😦 I’m not ready for this! 😉

Leave a Reply

