New Kitchen Gadget!

Where has she been..?!

Well that’s a great question friends, and so sorry for bailing on ya’ll for the start of this week…

But unfortunately, I’ve been a bit under the weather 😦

And as such, the eats around here have consisted of gourmet items such as chicken soup, ice cream, cereal?… you know, the typical “sick foods” 😉

But before things took a turn for the worse, I did have a chance to whip up a decent meal using a fun new kitchen gadget I won a few weeks back from my girl Erica!

I present to you:  the Tofu Press

This thing is a dream in the kitchen, I couldn’t believe how much easier it made my tofu cooking experience! 

And if you’ve ever cooked with tofu before, perhaps you can relate to the “2 plate pressing method” I may or may not be referring to 😉

Check out how much liquid this sucker pressed out in just a half hour’s time in the fridge!

Then I used the same container to marinate the ‘fu — it comes with a perfect lil’ lid for doing so.

I simply cubed the pressed tofu and let marinate in the following mixture:

  • 1 tblsp coconut oil
  • 2 tblsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp grated ginger

This is a recipe “theme” that I use often on tofu, but tweak depending on my mood / what I have on hand (check out the original tofu adventure here!)

Once it had marinated for about a half hour, I simply placed it on a baking sheet and put into a 400F oven for 30 minutes – flipping halfway through.

Perfection.

Every time 😀

Served simply with brown rice topped w/ buttah and steamed broccoli, this was the last “normal” meal I have had in the recent past 😛

But it sure was a good one!

Now I’m out, there’s lots of sleeping & resting to be done so I can get back to work tomorrow… and perhaps some more ice cream eating since breakfast and lunch may have not been enough?! 😉

6 responses to “New Kitchen Gadget!

  1. FEEL BETTER!!! Lots of ice cream- very necessary 🙂 Glad you like your new toy. I was so excited when I saw you had won.

  2. Feel better sweetie!!

    I may be a tad bit jealous of your winnings. I think I need to pick one of these bad boys up. 🙂

  3. Oh, no! I hope you feel better SOON! At least new kitchen gadgets help a little…especially when they are free. 🙂 I LOVE tofu, so I need one of those badly!

  4. I am feeling a bit under the weather myself & it is close week here at work…not the best time to be sick!

    Hope you feel better soon!

    I have been meaning to pick up some tofu at the grocery store! I am going to have to do that very soon & try out this recipe. And I must look around for your neat little gadget as well!

    • It’s the week before quarter-close for me too and I’m getting so stressed about missing work – I definitely feel ya on that! :/

      • Isn’t close the worse? We are on a 4-4-5 week period for the quarter, so we don’t close on a calendar…but our Corporate does. It’s the strangest thing, really. But, I’ve gotten used to it & even though it is still technically September, we are in October here, haha!

        Hope that you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

