Check out this Beauty!

Check out this beauty!!!

I just couldn’t resist this handsome squash at the farmer’s market the other week… could you blame me? 😉

With this squash I was inspired to make a comforting pasta dish… takin’ it back to “his and her’s” style!

I decided that I’d make personalized pasta bakes, tossing together the ingredients that we each enjoy and baking up our dishes seperately.  Win win 😀

First up – the common ingredients.

Orecchiette (may be my favorite pasta ever), pasta sauce and mozzarella cheese.

Plus fresh basil, because what doesn’t taste better with the addition of this fresh herb?

For her:  Roasted squash seasoned with sea salt & black pepper (350F for 30 minutes).

This squash was super sweet!

For him (and a bit for her!):  fresh made hot Italian sausage.

To prepare the sausage I simply chopped up an onion.

And some garlic.

Into a hot pan with a touch of olive oil and cooked until done.

While all this was going on, the pasta was boiled according to directions.

Then it was time to prepare the bakes!

For her:  roasted squash, few spoonfuls of sausage/onion/garlic mixture, fresh basil…

Plus a cup of marinara sauce and some of the cooked orrechiette – stirred up until combined then put into a baking dish.

For him:  Sausage/onion/garlic mixture, fresh basil, marinara sauce and cooked orrechiette.

Same deal.

This was fun, kinda like those mix-your-own-salad restaurants but with pasta instead!

See!  His and hers 🙂  Perfecto.

What’s that you say?  Where’s the cheese?  Thought you’d never ask 😉

Topped with cheese of course!

Into a hot 375F for just about 10 minutes and you are ready to eat 😛

The Man was pacing around between the den and the kitchen asking every 5 minutes when we were “having dinner” haha.  I think this must have smelled good or somethin’ 😉

Sure did taste good – that’s for sure!

Don’t forget your “greens”!

What a comforting meal 🙂

Yummmmmmmm.

Anyone else as happy about it being Thursday tomorrow as I am?  Phew what a week! 😉

4 responses to “Check out this Beauty!

  1. ow- what a beautiful squash! And the bakes look fab. Can I recommend this next time: http://itzyskitchen.blogspot.com/2008/12/sausage-stuffed-acorn-squash.html

  2. Mmmmm squash! I am LOVING all of the squash recipes I’ve been seein’ lately. And I always love how you do his/hers dishes! 🙂

  3. Ohhh, I ❤ squash and this one sure looks like a beauty! Mike is even on the squash train! 🙂

    I am SO glad it's Thursday! Especially because I have Monday off. Whoohoo!

  4. That is one heckuva good lookin’ squash! Love the pasta bakes!

Leave a Reply

