Weeknight Dinner Guests

I tell ya what – this has been one busy week so far! 

But not busy enough to keep us from having Fanatic Mom & Dad over for dinner last night 😛

On the menu:

Our new favorite fall inspired salad:

Romaine, sliced pear, dried cranberries topped with a homemade balsamic/olive oil vinaigrette & fresh black pepper.

And yes, I use baby food jars to shake up homemade salad dressings!  Works like a charm 🙂


Roasted beets topped with sea salt, black pepper, balsamic vinegar and crumbled feta.

About 1 hour at 375F, wrapped in foil, then peeled and sliced is all you gotta do to get this sweet treat!  I still can’t believe how much I love these roasted beauties 😀

Baked sweet potatoes – served all fancy-like 😉

And finally, the steaks, which were seasoned with sea salt & black pepper then done stovetop using a bit of butter & vegetable oil.

Good night for our grill to decide to stop working… sheesh I tell ya!  But this stovetop method works every time – so good!

And finally… get ready to drool…

Oh yes, the “dessert sampler platter” provided by Fanatic Mom!

Here we have a chocolate cheesecake thing, a chocolate brownie thing, a vanilla/chocolate thing and a lemon thing… no need to get techinical, they were all OUTRAGEOUS!!!!

Perfect ending to a busy Tuesday if you ask me 😀

Do you like being the hostess and having guests over for dinner?  Or would you rather be the guest?

Bet ya’ll know the answer to that for me 😛  I LOVE being the hostess (and cook!!!) 😛

7 responses to “Weeknight Dinner Guests

  1. What a meal! The salad looks perfect. I love craisins in salad. And the desserts? Great job fanatic mama. I do enjoy having guests over! I like trying new recipes and finding something for everyone to enjoy. Hope the rest of your week is wonderful

  2. Dang lady, can you please have me over for dinner sometime? 🙂 Everything looks amazing! The salad especially. Oh, and let’s not forget those desserts.

    I love to entertain, but I also love to be a guest. Either works for me.

  3. Everything looks (and sounds) delicious! Especially that salad and dessert plate 🙂

    PS: Are we EVER going to hear this exciting news?!? or did I miss it?

    • no, you didn’t miss it! you will know very soon… before the end of the month for sure! (i know, i know… i do feel bad for making everyone wait but i got to get everything set before i open my big mouth haha)!! 😛

  4. I want to come to one of your dinners, FOR SURE!! You are the hostess with the mostess. 🙂 I LOVE having people over (or really, just cooking/baking for others), but I will admit….it still makes me nervous. Just always terrified somethin’ will go awry. 🙂

  5. I’d rather be the guest, but bring a dish of my own. I’d love to be a hostess but I only have a two-seater table so it’s difficult.

Leave a Reply

