Pumpkin Coconut Chickpea Curry!

Oh boyyyyyy do I have a recipe for you friends tonight!!!

This may be my best curry yet – not that I’ve made all that many, but just go with me here 😉

I present to you:

Pumpkin Coconut Chickpea Curry!

First let’s review the key players, shall we?

  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, seeds removed and chopped
  • 1 cup Libby’s canned pumpkin (!!)
  • 1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans, same diff?) – drained & rinsed
  • 3 tsp Muchi curry powder (this stuff rocks!)
  • fresh mint, chopped
  • fresh basil, chopped

Plus:

Step 1:  Cook the veggies.

I started with the chopped onion, which I cooked in coconut oil until tender but not browned (about 5 minutes).

Check out how shiny the coconut oil makes the veggies, love this stuff!! —> enough to wash my face with it every night too, for real, but don’t worry it doesn’t have the same “shine” effect there but instead makes my face so soft! 😀

Then in go the chopped tomatoes.

Another minute or two will do.

Now it’s time for a color pop!!!  Add in the curry powder plus some sea salt and black pepper.

Ahhh the smells!!  Is it just me or does Indian food have the most romantically wonderful fragrances?!?!

Step 2:  Add the rest!  (really, could it get any easier?) 😛

In go the pumpkin and chickpeas plus about 2 cups of water.

At this point just turn the heat down to medium-low and allow the curry to simmer while you cook up some rice to serve alongside.

Go ahead, pour yourself a glass of wine too while you wait, you deserve it 😉

About 5-10 minutes before you’re ready to serve, add in your fresh chopped basil and mint plus a diced jalapeno for a lil’ spice!  If it’s too thick, some more water will do the trick too.

Stir it upppppp….

Then the final touch – coconut milk!!!  It freezes wonderfully for later use, which is why you see ice cube like shapes in the pan 😛

Stir through until coconut milk is incorporated and then get ready to have a partayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

Party for the mouth that is!  Served over some brown basmati rice, this meal was phenomenal!

All the spices were just right and the sweetness of the pumpkin and coconut perfectly balanced the spice of the curry and jalapeno.  The fresh mint and basil added a delicious additional layer of flavor too!

I actually ended up adding more fresh mint to my serving which left such a cool fresh taste in contrast to the curry…  I think this may have made the dish for me!

Ahhh I could go on and on.  This one was a winner 🙂

Well guess it’s about that time for our Thursday night “educational tv” ya’ll — fist pumpppppppppppp!

9 responses to “Pumpkin Coconut Chickpea Curry!

  1. Delicious. Pumpkin is so the shiz right now 🙂 And I love me some heat- so that little touch of jalapeno action is perfect. Enjoy Jersey Shore

  2. All my favorites…pumpkin…coconut…chickpea..curry…YUM!

  3. This looks delicious! I love that you served it on pumpkin plates! Super cute! I’ve never had curry before. It’s something that I’m nervous to try. I think at some point I will 🙂

  4. Wowza! I need to make this soon! Mike is totally going to be forced into try it too. 🙂

  5. Fanatic Mom

    On my menu for next week…can’t wait! I may try to freeze some for Fanatic Sis.

  6. Sweet and Fit

    have to make this!

  7. Pingback: Vegan food, vegan clothing

  8. I have looked all over for a pumpkin coconut chickpea curry, and so glad to have found it. I’m making it right now, and I found it a little bland so I added a bay leaf, some thyme and some cardamom to the recipe. I also had a whole bunch of cherry tomatoes from my garden so I threw in about 4 handfuls of those. It’s starting to taste really good, and I can’t wait for the brown rice to finish cooking so I can eat it! Thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

