Simplicity, Overrated?

Simplicity.

Something sometimes overrated don’t ya think?

Well, good thing this weekend has been full of it ๐Ÿ™‚

From delicious simple drinks…

To simple fresh pasta dinners…

It’s been a fabulous weekend and I can’t complain ๐Ÿ˜€

Okay let’s get a little more into this pasta dish, shall we?

Today Bombolini Pasta was back in action at the farmer’s market, and I didn’t even hesitate to pick up a few bundles of their delicious fare!

This would be fresh black pepper pasta.ย  Doesn’t need much more than a simple “sauce” to serve…

For the lady – garlic, tomato and fresh basil

Plus some black pepper, sea salt and freshly grated Pecorino Romano to serve

Parmesan ain’t got nothin’ on this Pecorino Romano.ย  Try it for yourself, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

For him – garlic, butter and freshly grated Pecorino Romano.

Plus some black pepper and sea salt too.

Let’s just say I think I won some points tonight with this meal… winner! ๐Ÿ˜‰

To go with our pasta I used some new-to-me lettuce from today’s farmer’s market…

If I could only remember the name of this stuff, because it is fabulous?!?!

Soft and buttery is the best way to describe it, I think it’s my favorite lettuce of all time.ย  Seriously. ๐Ÿ˜›

A simple salad of tomato, Italian sweet green pepper, onion, black pepper, salt & oregano…

Which I “fancied up” with some freshly steamed farmer’s market green beans (chilled in an ice bath after boiling 2-3 minutes), more shredded Pecorino plus some balsamic vinegar/olive oil.

Oh happy day ๐Ÿ˜›

And then this happened…

And life was good ๐Ÿ˜€

P.S.ย  These Bailey’s chocolate are quite possibly one of the best things ever.ย  Woah.

Happy Saturday to ya’ll!

5 responses to “Simplicity, Overrated?

  1. I think the lettuce is actually called butter lettuce (Boston Bibb is another name for it) – I get it sometimes in my CSA box and it is my absolute favorite :). And banana bread beer?!?!

    • It’s much like butter lettuce, but it doesn’t come in a head of lettuce like butter lettuce does? It’s loose just like arugula?? The type was a two word name, but I am seriously goin’ nuts trying to remember it?!?!? It has surpassed butter lettuce as my fave though, which I didn’t think possible! And yes, the banana bread beer is AMAZING ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Where did you find the banana beer at?
        And almost as important, if not more so, where did you get Baileys chocolates from? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. black pepper pasta? That sounds really interesting. I’d totally give it a go. I’m all about simplicity- from outfits to food…simple is always best (IMO). โค

  3. Hi, please box me up some of those chocolates and maybe a banana bread beer or two, and send them to me ASAP!

    ok ok, in my dreams, I get it!

Leave a Reply

