Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

Tonight I was looking for a dinner that would incorporate some of the delicious leftover roasted chicken from last night…

As well as use up some fresh ingredients we had in the fridge that needed to go…

And that’s where this idea was born! 🙂

Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

Now this is a little bit different than your “classic” stuffed pepper recipe, but in no way any less delicious!

Instead of the usual green bell peppers, I had some sweet Italian peppers from the farmer’s market that I used instead. 

 You can see that they are a different shape, therefore required a bit of modification for stuffing.

Key players:

  • 2 sweet Italian peppers (or bell peppers)
  • leftover roasted chicken, shredded – about 1 cup
  • frozen corn, defrosted – about 3/4 cup
  • cooked brown basmati rice (unpictured) – about 1 cup
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 clove garlic, chopped
  • salsa – about 1/3 cup
  • cheese – about 1/4 block sliced thin
  • salt & pepper

First I sliced the peppers in half, removed the tops and scooped out the seeds.  While I prepared the filling I placed the peppers in a baking dish and into a 350F oven so they could begin to soften (about 10 minutes).

To prepare the filling, just  a simple mix of the cooked rice, chicken, onion, garlic and corn – plus some salt & pepper to taste.

Then I removed the peppers from the oven and stuffed them with said mixture 😀

Before stuffing I did a thin layer of cheese and salsa on the bottom of the peppers – be careful, the baking dish is h-o-t!

Once stuffed, layer some additional salsa and the rest of the cheese on top and pop these suckers back into a 350F oven for another 30 minutes. 

Leave the peppers covered with foil for the first 20 minutes, then uncover for the last 10 min.

The result?  Sweet & spicy stuffed pepper goodness! (say that 10 times fast 😉 )

I added some Cholula Chipotle hot sauce on top to serve.  This is one of my favorite condiments, kind of like a spicy bbq sauce from the smokey chipotles!

These peppers turned out great – and I could definitely see making them with whatever protein I had on hand or liked (e.g. black beans, northern beans, ground beef… you catch my drift!)

Alongside our stuffed peppers I made the most random side dish ever 😛

Bok Choy!  Yea yea yea, doesn’t really go with the Southwestern theme, I know I know…

But it needed using and I needed some veggies in my life!

Simply cooked in 1tsp olive oil with some sea salt, black pepper and garlic.  An easy, fast, healthy & yummy side dish – no problem!

And now I’ll leave you with a goodnight from the most polite dog ever…

Hahaha what dog sits like this??  Oh Lucy girl, I love ya!! 😛

Night ya’ll!

5 responses to “Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

  1. Awww, sweet Lucy! 🙂 Those stuffed peppers look so good, I love that you topped them with sliced cheese! I will have to try out this recipe sometime soon!!

  2. These stuffed peppers look especially good to me! And cholula is one of my favorite condiments too! 😀

  3. hahahhaha I love the crossed legs. Dogs are too funny. The peppers look awesome. I wish Josh was a peppers guy, I’d make stuffed peppers once a week!

  4. Oh my goodness Lucy! What a little princess, I love it.

    You know my love for stuffed peppers. We need a change from our usual go to recipe, this one looks like a great one to try!

  5. Pingback: Greens Baby! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

