The Perfect Roasted Chicken

Last night I rushed home from work in order to get a lovely roasted chicken on our table in time for dinner…

Then I thought to myself, who does that?!

Oh Cookinfanatic…  I tell ya! 😛

At the farmer’s market this past weekend I picked up a whole chicken from one of my favorite vendors – Nature’s Choice Farms – which I was excited about roasting up this week.

These antibiotic-free, hormone-free, pasture raised chickens are seriously the best…

If you haven’t read about this pastured chicken then check it out —->  here!

And I have to say that this is definitely the most successful roasted chicken adventure I’ve had in the kitchen.  Not that the other ones weren’t good – but this one just went that “extra mile” to greatness!

I attribute it to simple flavors & patience (i.e. not trying to take the chicken out of the oven too early!) hence why I have deemed it to be:

The Perfect Roasted Chicken

All you need is the following:

  • 2 tblsp butter (softened)
  • 2 small onions, cut in half
  • 1 onion, sliced thick into 4 rings
  • Fresh thyme (I used English thyme)
  • Sea salt
  • Black pepper

Plus a chicken – preferably hormone/antibiotic free, pastured chicken as high quality as Nature’s Choice Farms  🙂

(This chicken truly is sensational friends, if you’re in the Richmond area I highly recommend checking them out at the West End Farmer’s Market on Saturdays!)

My chicken came with all insides removed and even the drumsticks tied up. All I had to do was give it a quick rinse and pat down dry with a paper towel.

I seasoned the cavity with salt and pepper and stuffed with the onions and thyme.

Then rubbed the outside of the chicken with the softened butter and added some additional salt & pepper all over.

Then I set the chicken in a baking dish, which I had placed the 4 onion slices on the bottom of so that the chicken had a place to rest.  This will prevent the chicken from sticking to the pan and also add extra flavor!

Into a 350F oven (uncovered) for about 1.5-1.75 hours (my chicken was just under 4lbs.) and then let to rest for about 20 minutes on the counter before slicing.

Perfection.  And the house smelled like HEAVEN.

The Man proclaimed this to be one of the “moistest chickens ever”!  I agreed 😛

And seriously, this couldn’t have been easier… I did a yoga session and some other things around the house and before I knew it our dinner was done!

And now I also have some leftover bones in the freezer to make homemade stock over the weekend – score!

Served with a simple green salad…

And some warm bread & butter and you got yourself a meal!

But wait, don’t forget the wine 😉

I decided to crack open this bottle from our trip to the wine festival earlier this fall, it did not disappoint!

Perfect end to the workday if you ask me 😀

7 responses to “The Perfect Roasted Chicken

  1. Perfection! I’ve never roasted a whole chicken. I know our local farm has beef, not sure about chicken. I will have to check. Happy Wednesday

  2. Hi Stephanie,

    When the weather is warmer have you ever considered a beer can chicken? If you’re looking for moist chicken, I recommend it. I have a food blog myself and profiled one not too long ago at my site, Food By DB. One thing I’d recommend is investing $7-$10 in an instant-read thermometer to ensure the chicken is not undercooked or dried out.

    All in all, a great recipe.

    Cheers!

    DB
    Fremont, CA

    • Hey there! Funny you should mention this because I was totally looking up recipes for “beer can chicken” yesterday before deciding to go this route… it’s definitely on my list of things to try!!! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

  3. Absolutely beautiful my friend. 🙂 I’ve always been very scared to try to cook a whole chicken. Someday my friend, someday…

  4. Pingback: Southwestern Stuffed Peppers « CookinFanatic

  5. I absolutely LOVE stuffed peppers! 🙂 Yum yum yum!

  6. Pingback: Natures Choice Farms Customers Are The Best | Natures Choice Farms

Leave a Reply

