And ode to the kitchen…

Dear Kitchen,

Oh how I have missed thee.  I know that we have been seperated for about 4 days now and for that, I am truly sorry.  Please be patient and I promise that come tomorrow, I will be back to warm your stove and heat your oven.  Until then…

~CookinFanatic~

Call me looney but too many days spent apart from my makes me a crazy person haha?!  I miss cooking so much and it’s only been a few short days 😦

So where have I been?  Let’s see:

Friday night = Hibachi with friends. 

Saturday night = Deli subs & movie night.

Sunday night = Football & chili with the Fam. 

So aside from throwing together some quick veggie-ful lunches (got a great salad recipe for you with no pics, go figure…), it’s been a bit of a dry-spell in the Fanatic kitchen.

But alas, that will end… tomorrow though.

Becauseeeeeeee tonight I have another Whole Foods Cooking Demo to attend with Miss EatingBirdFood and Fanatic Mom!

And if tonight is anything like the past, the recipes will be deelish 😀

Ahhh a walk down memory lane….

Asian Tofu Taco

Caprese Pasta Salad

Cool Minty Cucumber Soup

 Of course I’ll be reporting back all of the fun recipe we learn tonight as well!  I think the theme of the night is “greens” but don’t quote me on it 😉

Other exciting happenings this week:

  • blogger dinner w/ Brittany, Kath and a few new bloggies I’ve never met!
  • JMU besties reunion – any guesses?!

Stay tuned…! 😛

 

Salad Niçoise – Fanatic Style (sans tuna)

  • greens (I used black seed simpson lettuce)
  • tomato, chopped
  • green beans, steamed and cooled
  • red skin potato, boiled and cooled
  • hard boiled egg, cooled
  • sea salt & black pepper
  • balsamic vinegar
  • olive oil

Imposter Pic – thank you google 🙂

Steam green beans for about 10 minutes until tender, drop into ice bath to cool.  Boil the potato for about 20 minutes (did this with the start of the beans) until tender.

Put together salad.  Layer of lettuce, chopped tomato, green beans (sliced into 1″ pieces), potato (quartered) and egg (chopped).  Season with salt and pepper.  Dress w/ balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

I love the texture and flavors of this salad – I’ve eaten it for lunch now three days in a row!  Not. even. kidding. 😉

2 responses to “And ode to the kitchen…

  1. Have fun tonight! I’m so jealous of all your cooking classes. Oh, and your bloggie meet-ups! Why can I not live closer to y’all? 😦

  2. I’ve been separated from my kitch too lately. I can’t say I miss it all that much though. It’s nice to take a break from cooking sometimes. I think that means I’m not really a cook, haha.

    Have fun tonight!

Leave a Reply

